Skip to main content

Architecture: Architectural Drawing

Research Guide in Support of the College of Architecture

FINDING ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS

Thumbnails of architectural drawings

Finding Information on Buildings

Use the following types of search terms when looking for information about a building: 

  • Building name
  • Architect
  • Location (city or country)
  • Time period or style
  • Type of building

These can be used in searching the online catalog, the journal indexes, and the indexes to books. 

LOCAL COLLECTIONS

‚ÄčImage thumbnails from local TTU image collections          

Texas Tech University Architectural Campus Drawings

The architectural and construction drawings for structures on the Texas Tech University campus may be found in three sources.  The Physical Plant has the primary master collection of drawings for buildings on campus, while the Facilities Planning maintains working copies.  The Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library has a selected collection of architectural and construction drawings, some of which may be available online.

Image thumbnails from local TTU image collections

Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway Company Depot

The Southwest Collections has a collection of original architecture and construction drawings for structures designed and built by the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway Company. This collection includes drawings from the Lubbock area and throughout the Southwest to California. A detailed inventory of the drawings can be found on the SWC/SCL website linked to below. 

FINDING AIDS

Use this bibliography to help identify key reference resources that contain architectural drawings. Use the LC Call assigned to Reference titles to locate books on architecture by country.

ARCHITECTURE LIBRARIANS

Hillary Veeder, Bonnie Reed & Sara Schumacher (L to R)'s picture
Hillary Veeder, Bonnie Reed & Sara Schumacher (L to R)
Contact:
Architecture Building, 9th Floor
18th & Flint
806-742-8058
Website
Subjects:Architecture