Finding references for Geography requires several steps. No one step will find all of the references available. Here is a brief guide to assembling a thorough collection of references on a topic. Experience will teach you which of these is most useful for each circumstance. Do not hesitate to ask a Librarian if you need assistance- they are here to help you. Tom Rohrig is the Librarian for Geography and Jessica Simpson is the Librarian for Geosciences. There will be a "get started" link or search box on the left side of the page where there are the words see left.
For books, your first step is to find out what is available in the Texas Tech Libraries (Main, Architecture, and the Southwest Collection). Use the federated search box labled "Start Here" from the library homepage and select the checkbox "Available in the Library Collection". In the search menu to the left under "Source Type", limit your search to "Books".
Another way of finding information is simply to browse through the stacks at the appropriate call numbers. Relevant Library of Congress call numbers include the following:
U.S. Federal Government Documents can be found through a variety of sources: the online catalog (TTU has been a Government Depository for over 50 years), the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications http://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=402827010 (see left). The print version is in the Government Documents collection (GP3.8:), and another electronic version - GPO Monthly Catalog (1976 onwards) is in FirstSearch, listed as a "Popular Database" on the library home page. Use the subject pull-down menu and search under these subject areas for more information "Congressional & Legal information; Government Information, General; and Statistical Information. Sources from Allied Disciplines Many topics of interest to geographers, as mentioned earlier, can also be located in databases and abstract collections for allied disciplines.
Be careful here! You can try a web search using your prefered search engine—Google, Bing, Yahoo, etc.—for references, but you have to be sure of their reliability and authority. Will they be scholarly? Will they be legitimate? Make sure you understand how to evaluate the reliability of resources online and/or ask a librarian regarding the authority of specific resources.
Reference Lists in Articles and Bibliographies in Books
Reading the articles and books you have collected will direct you to still more references by using a method called "backward citation chaining". If a paper is cited in the text and it looks like it may be useful to you, hunt it down. Review articles are particularly helpful in the early stages of a project. For example, both Progress in Human Geography (GFI P96) and Progress in Physical Geography (GI P686) are available online through EbscoHost Academic Search Complete and Sage Premier 2007--are journals with many review articles and are good places to start looking.
You can also follow "forward citation chaining". With modern technology, many databases are now using forward citation chaining to track authors who are citing articles that you are already using. Following citations "forward" will let you know how that article has impacted the field and may provide even more recent infromation on your topic.
Some more things:
*Start your research immediately! Although the TTU Libraries have a plethora of resources, they will not have everything you are looking for. Document Delivery may take a few days to two weeks. Use your time accordingly. Writing your paper at the last minute is nothing compared to researching at the last minute. Use the Ask a Librarian link for assistance (see left). They love to be asked about this stuff. You can also use the Ask a Librarian, starting with clicking on Contact Us under Help: on the right side of the home page.
This link gives guidance to how to cite in the major style manuals. It is particularly good in helping cite electronic resources.
Find relevant geographical resources using the federated search box labeled "Start Here" on the library home page (library.ttu.edu). You can limit to articles by selecting "Journal Articles" in the "Source Types" in the left menu. You might also find articles in "Source Types" in Magazines, Reviews, etc. Remember to pick your own topic. The query in this example includes operators including Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), a Keyword Phrase operator (quotations marks), and Group operators (parenthesis).
An example of a search you might run in the "Start Here" federated search to find opposing views: