Skip to main content

College of Human Sciences: EndNote Basic

This guide will be useful as a resource for assignment help, for research assistance, and for finding subject information.

Managing Citations

ENDNOTE basic

EndNote Online (Web) is a web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies. This tool complements the EndNote X8 (desktop version) nicely.  

  1. Collect references from electronic and traditional sources.
  2. Organize your references for your research topics and papers.
  3. Create a formatted bibliography for your paper or cite references while you write.

Handout for EndNote Online

Step-by-Step Instructions for ENDNOTE Online

Below are some simple visuals that will help you use the Handout above.

Set up EndNote Online Account 

Please go to ENDNOTE Online to set up your account. The screen states to please sign in or create an account.  Click on create an account to begin the process. Recently, EndNote has added additional screens you have to maneuver to get to the home page. 

Password Guidelines

 

 

 

Set up Database List & Bibliography

Select Favorites List

 

Once your account is open, you need to set up your database list. Click on the Collect Tab. Click on Import References. Click on Select Favorites. Highlight the databases you would like to use to import   citations. If you plan to use Google Scholar, make sure to include EndNote Import in this list.

 

Very similar to the step above. Click on the Format Tab. Click on Bibliography. Select customize this list. Highlight the citation styles you use. Click the Copy to Favorites button. This works with the Cite While you Write option if you do not have this set up then Cite While you Write does not work.

  Import citations into EndNote Online

Find citations in a database that you would like to add to Endnote Online. Important if you are given the option to select the EndNote  Web option, use that option. Do not use the option Endnote it is separate from Endnote Web. Then follow the steps a. through c. If you do not have the option of Endnote Web skip over a. through c. and follow the paragraph below:

EndNote Web option

    a. Click on save or export depending on the database you are in. You may want to gather in a folder before 

    b. You may have to unblock pop ups in your browser, then the sign in page for Endnote Online will come up, sign in.you export, but not all databases have this option. If needed please contact your librarian for additional help. 

    c. You should see a screen that tells you X number of records imported.

Export the citations from the database into a text file. Since there is no EndNote Web option, always select generic bibliographic management software and save the export document as a text file, which is .txt. Save the text file to the computer you are working on in a location that you can find. (I usually select the desktop, as it is easy to find the files there.) Open Endnote Online. Click on the Collect Tab. Click on Import References. Browse for the text file you have created that you saved from above. Next, select the filter, which is the database that you just were searching from the first dropdown list. Then, decide where you would like the citations to be filed in the “TO:” which is the second drop down list. Next, click Import button. You should see X number of files have been imported.

Import the Citations from Google Scholar

Set your Google Scholar Bibliographic Manager settings. From the homepage of Google Scholar, click on setting in the upper right.  Now look towards the bottom of the page, see Bibliographic Manager, and use the arrows to select EndNote. Click save. 

Import to EndNoteFind citations in Google Scholar. You should see – Import into EndNote – below the citations. Click  on this for the citation you would like to add to your EndNote Online account. I know that I have made it clear not to use EndNote while working with EndNote Online but Google Scholar is the exception. When you click on the – Import into EndNote – link below the citation, it will automatically download a file to the computer. You can find this file either in downloads or in documents area on your computer. Open EndNote Online. Go to the Collect Tab and then Import References. Click on Choose file button  and select the file that was downloaded to your computer from Google Scholar, click open. You should now see the file name on the screen in EndNote Online. Next use the first dropdown list to select the Import Option; you need to select EndNote Import here. Then using the second dropdown list, select where it is going “To”, which folder you want the citation loaded. Now click the Import Button. You should see 1 file has been imported.

 Import the Citations from PubMed

Find citations in PubMed. Mark references you want to import to Endnote Online, by using the checkmark boxes on the left. Under Send To (top of page on right) select File from the pull-down menu, then choose Format MEDLINE. Save the pubmed_result.txt file to your computer. Open EndNote Online. Select the Collect Tab and then Import References. Click on Choose file button and select the .txt file you saved. Click Open. Next use the first dropdown list to select the Import Option; you need to select PubMed (NLM) import filter. Then using the second dropdown list, select where it is going “To”, which folder you want the citation loaded. Next, click Import button. You should see X number of files have been imported.

Cite While you Write Plug-in

Cite While you Write is an add-on offered by Endnote Online to work with Microsoft Word. To locate Cite While you Write hover over format tab, then click on cite while you write link. Follow instructions listed for your system. This add-on insert citations from inside Word interface and allows you to edit to include page numbers to in-text citations.

To Insert Citations & to Edit In-Text Citations when in Word

Open Word. Make sure you have downloaded the Cite While you Write plug-in from Endnote Online. Click on the EndNote ribbon in Word. This will prompt a pop up for logging into EndNote Online. Now the ribbon is visible, click on insert citation. Find the citation you want to insert, highlight it, click insert.

Click on the citation you want to edit. Now choose Edit Citation(s) in the ribbon in Word. Adjust the page numbers and if needed author and year depending on your citation style.

To Format a Bibliography

Click on the Format Tab. Click on Bibliography. Next, select the group of references to format from the first drop down list. Highlight the bibliography output style that you want to use. Next select from the third drop down list the file format: Text, HTML, or RTF (Rich Text Format). Then use the save, email, or preview/print buttons as needed.

To Share Information through Groups

Click on the Organize Tab. Manage My Groups allows you to share groups with other’s by entering their email address under Manage Sharing. Other’s Groups allows you to see groups others have shared with you.

To Export from EndNote Web to Mendeley

First open your EndNote Web account. Click on the format tab, then Export Reference. Use the dropdown menu to select the references you want to export. Now use the export style dropdown menu to select RefMan (RIS) export. Now click on the Preview & Print button.

   

This will open a popup window that has the citations in RIS format. You will then need to right click on the mouse to get to the "save as" tool. Click on save as, and a save as window will popup. See next figure.

Now you must save this file as a .ris file. To do this, change the .html to .ris. Make sure you give it a name you can remember and put it someplace where you can find it. I usually label mine as endnote citations.ris and put it on the desktop of my computer.

EndNote Direct Error - Broken Fall 2016

Note for some reason web browsers are not able to complete the Direct Export from Databases when using the radio button option - Direct Export to EndNote Web. Please follow the steps below as a work around until the Direct Export is fixed. 

Only works on FireFox.

  1. Export the citations from the database into a text file.  Since there is no Endnote Online option, always select generic bibliographic management software and save the export document as a text file, which is .txt. Save the text file to the computer you are working on in a location that you can find.  (I usually select the desktop, as it is easy to find the files there.)
  2. Open Endnote Online.
  3. Click on the Collect Tab.
  4. Click on Import References.
  5. Browse for the text file you have created that you saved in #3.
  6. Next, select the filter, which is the database that you just were searching from the first dropdown list.
  7. Then, decide where you would like the citations to be filed in the “TO:” which is the second drop down list.
  8. Next, click Import button.  You should see X number of files have been imported. 

Note

Please note this product has several names most commonly it is referred to as Endnote Web but you will see Endnote Basic and EndNote Online used as well.

Mac Error 10814

To fix in Word 2008/2011 Endnote Online Cite While you Write plugin Mac Error 10814

1. Open Word.

2. Go to the "Tools" menu, choose "EndNote" and select "Cite While You Write Preferences."

3. Here, go to the "Applications" tab.

4. Select EndNote Web. Enter your EndNote Online username and password.

5. Click OK, now restart Word and try using the tools again.

Suggested Guides