Skip to main content

Bioinformatics: Databases, Journals, and Articles

This is a subject guide for bioinformatics.

Requesting Documents from Databases

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan

If TTU Libraries does not own the item you need, request it through DocDel/ILL.

How to Request Items Using SFX

You may find an article using a database that does not have access to the text.  When you see this, it means the item has been indexed only—a record has been made for it without being linked to the full-text of the article.  Find the item by clicking on the "link resolver".  This will search the library for full-text access. Use the link resolver to fill out the form for DocDel/ILL.

The link resolver may look like this:

Get it      

Tips for Databases

Establishing accounts with a databases you use frequently can provide you with extra perks.  Some databases allow you to sign-in and track the articles you are interested in using whenever you return to your account.  Some may also allow you to create bibliographies and track your citations.  Also, many databases offer alert services; you can set up an account and receive updates to the database in your research area via e-mail.

Search the Library for Articles

Medical/Physiological Databases

Medical and Behavioral Databases

Databases Specializing in Computing Resources

These are suggestions that include both indexing and large proportions of full-text access in computer science related fields of study.  

Comprehensive Science Databases

These are suggestions for databases that include indexing for comprehensive overviews for research subject breadth in the world of science or specific item searching.  These suggestions may not include databse access full-text articles.  Please use SFX link resolver to check library holdings or request items via interlibrary loan (see SFX on left).