Skip to main content

Graduate Student Services: Teaching

A guide to services and resources for Graduate Students at TTU Libraries

Build Your Students' Research Skills

Basics of Library Research SplashHelp your students develop their research skills so they can find the highest-quality resources, cite sources correctly, and turn in better papers!

Librarians can demonstrate how TAs can teach their own students to navigate the research process effectively and locate and evaluate research materials—essential skills for graduate and undergraduate students.

We can develop a lesson plan, in-class activities, and presentations customized to the course assignments that can be presented either by the librarian or the TA.

Request an instruction session from your personal librarian. Topics could include

  • Selecting a research topic
  • Locating subject-specific databases
  • Search strategies
  • Evaluating sources
  • Conducting literature reviews
  • and more!

Course Reserves

Course Reserves are materials and resources selected by instructors and made available to students by the University Libraries. Ideal for supplemental readings and digital resources provided by the Library, this service is meant to assist instructors in meeting their students' educational needs. Materials can be in print or electronic and may include 
  • Books
  • Media Items
  • Textbooks
  • Journal or Magazine Articles
  • Book Chapters
  • Exams and Homework Solutions

Shorter readings such as content from e-journals and book chapters are generally available online through the Course Reserves site. Other materials such as books and media items can be checked out at the Service Desk for short loan periods during the Library's operating hours.

Instructors can add items to Course reserve using the link below. (To access the request form from the Libraries' home page, on the left sidebar menu, choose Circulation > Circ Services > Course Reserve Request.)

Turnitin Guides

Turnitin Icon

Turnitin is a web-based solution that can find and highlight matching or unoriginal text in a written assignment. Instructors can use Turnitin to make the process of detecting plagiarism easier and more efficient. In addition, Turnitin provides students and faculty with a variety of educational resources on preventing and avoiding plagiarism, writing research papers, and citing sources.                                

  • Turnitin allows students enrolled in courses to submit their written assignments to its database. Turnitin compares those papers to papers in its database and returns an "originality report" which highlights strings of matching text.

When a paper is submitted to Turnitin, it is compared against databases of content from 3 primary collections:

  1. Student papers that have previously been submitted – over 330 million submissions
  2. Current and archived webpages: 45 billion pages of Internet content
  3. Leading content publishers, including library databases, textbook publishers, digital reference collections, subscription-based publications, homework helper sites and books—Over 130 million articles. 

For more information, please view the online guide for instructors.

Subject Guide

Brian Quinn's picture
Brian Quinn
Contact:
Reference Room Mezzanine M 113
806-834-2148