Skip to main content

Southwest Collection/Special Collection Library: Home

This is a general guide for researchers to get started using the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library.

SWC - Hours

[See tab above for Requesting Materials.]
General Hours

Monday - Friday: 9 A.M. - 5 P.M.

To support our student scholars during the regular semester the Reading Room,

we may offer extended hours on Tuesday & Thursday until 7 P.M.

and Saturdays from 9 A.M. - 1 P.M.

 

Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library -- Collections and Scope

The Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library is Texas Tech University's archival library. It consists of various special collections, one of which is the Southwest Collection.

These unique collections include:

  • The Southwest Collection
  • The Sowell Family Collection in Literature, Community and the Natural World
  • University Archives
  • Rare Books
  • The Crossroads of Music Archive

Materials include: Books, Periodicals, Manuscripts, Oral histories, Maps, Digital Collections, Newspapers, Artifacts, Video, etc.

Each of these collections represent the scope of this library's holdings. The name should not be seen as restrictive as our scope is global, including manuscripts pertaining to authors, scientists, and pioneers from international backgrounds. Our patrons will certainly find in-depth and varying materials on ranching and heritage but could also expect to find primary sources on English literature, engineering, culinary histories, the sciences, etc. All materials held in our special collections and available to our patrons add to the richness of Texas Tech University as a top tier research university. 

SWC - Contact

Address:

15th & Detroit, Box 41041, Lubbock, Texas 79409-1041

Telephone 

(806)-742-3749

Fax 

(806)-742-0496