Skip to main content

Southwest Collection/Special Collection Library: Requesting Materials

This is a general guide for researchers to get started using the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library.

Tips for getting started with research in the Southwest Collection.

  • Notice: Materials housed in vaults are not always accessible to patrons on nights and weekends.
  • If it can save you time and a long commute, see what we have available online in our Digital Collections. (see link in center column)
  • If you come to the library with a topic or subject in mind, ask if a reference file is available. (see link in center column)
  • Ask one of our archivist/librarians for guidance.
  • If you have a date range and/or region in mind, see our newspaper list. (see link in center column)
  • If you don't see a newspaper listed, feel free to browse our microfilm list(see link in center column)

Forms & Policies -- Reference Requests

Reference Tools -- William Holden Reading Room

Materials requested from the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library are non-circulating. This is different from requesting un-restricted materials from a public library or the University's main library. A patron may welcomely request materials for their research. Depending on the condition of the item or restrictions on it, they may be asked for its intended purpose. Once a request is completed, the materials will be retrieved by on-duty faculty or staff for use in the reading room. These items will not be allowed beyond the reading room or off of the premises. While the requesting process can feel a little intimidating to first-time users, all patrons should feel welcome to request materials, and our archivist/librarians and staff will be glad to help.   

Assistant Librarian - Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library

Rob King's picture
Rob King
Southwest Collection/
Special Collections Library
15th & Detroit,
Box 41041
Lubbock, Texas 79409-1041
Office: 111H
(806) 834-0397

Current Featured Exhibits

Remembering Pearl Harbor: The 75th Anniversary

The exhibit commemorates this pivotal event in American history and features excerpts from oral histories and manuscripts permanently housed at the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Texas Tech University.

Exhibit available for viewing Spring 2017.

The James Sowell Family Collection in Literature, Community, and the Natural World

Exhibit available for viewing Spring 2017.

Women of Texas Tech University

Exhibit available for viewing Spring 2017.