Guides: Sociology: Databases, Journals, and Articles

Getting Some Background

The library has many useful encyclopedias and handbooks that can be helpful for getting some background and context on your research topic. These include works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology, Encyclopedia of Social Theory, Concise Encyclopedia of Comparative Sociology, Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia, 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook, International Handbook of Sociology, The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Methods, and Principles of Sociological Inquiry-Qualitative and Quantitative Methods.

Related Research Guides

Anthropology
Information about how to access databases, journals, and articles as well as books, theses, and dissertations, and web resources.

Psychological Sciences
A guide to help you find resources such as journal articles, books, e-journals, dissertations and theses related to psychology.

Social Work
This guide to finding resources in the field of social work includes recommended databases, how to find social work journals, books, theses and dissertations

Best Bets for Finding Sociology Articles

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 19th century to today, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes: Harvard University’s Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom’s Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology
Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology is a much-needed online guide to the essential literature across the various subfields of criminology. It combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database covers the years 1965 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included. Indexing is provided from 1806 to the present. PsycINFO is by far the most comprehensive and scholarly database that the library has for finding psychology research.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage sociology and anthropology journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.

Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Best Bets for Finding Sociology Journals

Many academic journals that were previously available in print can now be found online by clicking the E-Journals A-Z link below. The TTU Libraries also hold a number of print journals, which can be found by clicking the LIbrary Catalog link below.

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.