Skip to main content

Texas Edition Recovering the Classics : Home

Schedule for Texas Edition Posters

Texas Tech University Libraries
Lubbock, TX 
Feb. 8, 2016  7 – 9 p.m.
 
Dawson County Public Library
Hosted by Friends of the Library organziation 
Lamesa, TX
April 9, 2016 - April 22, 2016

 

Contact Cynthia to hosted the posters at your library

Texas Edition Recovering the Classics

The Texas Edition Recovering the Classics is a collaboration between Texas State Library and Archives Commission and Texas Tech University to bring the beautifully designed covers for beloved literature in the public domain to Texas from the Recovering the Classics program. With 40 full color covers available to lend to libraries all across the state, the Texas Edition Recovering the Classics strives to help every library in Texas host a pop-up gallery. This creates an opportunity at each library to invite patrons to discuss art, literature, and why their favorite book is worth reading. 

Feb. - Recovering the Classics Pop-up Gallery TTU in Lubbock, TX

Recovering the Classics Library Exhibit

April - Dawson County Library in Lamesa,TX

Lamesa Recovering the Classics

May - City of Wolfforth Library in Wolfforth, TX

The posters are on display.

Recovering the Classics

Recovering the Classics is a crowdsourced collection of original covers for great works in the public domain where anyone can contribute. Originally a collaboration between The Creative Action Network, Harvard Book Store and Plympton’s DailyLit, we’re proud to announce a new initiative with the White House, the New York Public Library and the Digital Public Library of America to bring these amazing covers to libraries and schools nationwide.

Why? Sadly, many of the greatest classics in the public domain are left with poorly designed or auto-generated covers that fail to capture what makes these books exciting and inspiring to us. So we invited illustrators, typographers, and designers of all stripes to create new covers for 100 of the greatest works in the public domain. Anyone can contribute, and all designs are available for sale as prints, apparel, and more to support the artists.

For more information on the national campaign Recovering the Classics