Skip to main content

Library Instruction, Workshops and Tutorials: Workshops

This guide lists instruction opportunities available to all TTU Faculty and Students.

Spring 2017 Schedule and Registration for Workshops

Workshop Descriptions

Learn at Your Library

These workshops are offered by TTU Personal Librarians.  Check the schedule for the dates and times of individual workshops.


Altmetrics
With the widespread adoption of information technology, the behavior of scholars has changed in recent years. Traditional measures of scholarly impact have come under increasing criticism for being inadequate. How can we measure the influence of scholarly work in the newly emerging online environment? This workshop focuses on the rise of altmetrics, alternative measures of scholarly influence. Alternative resources for measuring research impact will be introduced and discussed and their advantages and disadvantages will be noted. Attendees will learn how to monitor personal and institutional research impact in new ways, track research significance and influence in a more timely and comprehensive manner, and achieve a better understanding of how the scholarly landscape may change in the years ahead. 

Basics of Library Research
Save time and money! Your personal librarian will get you started with library resources and services. Get tips on how to find articles and books. Learn how to expand and limit search results in databases. Create your free Document Delivery account. Access style guides online. Forget what you think you know. Rediscover the library.

Bring Your Own Device to the Library
These sessions are meant to be free-form workshops where users can bring their devices, get unofficial help from other attendees (or the presenter), find support material in the Library and online, and become more confident using their devices.

Cite It Right!
This presentation will explain plagiarism, show examples of correct and incorrect ways to paraphrase and quote material, and provide strategies for avoiding plagiarism. The session will provide guidance in accessing Library citation guides, as well as additional resources for formatting citations and writing annotated bibliographies. There will also be a demonstration of how Turnitin employs a technological solution to checking documents for potential plagiarism. This session will primarily interest novice researchers who want to gain basic skills in correctly citing resources. 

Creating Your Own Opportunities: Using the University Library Resources to Become an Entrepreneur and Obtain a Patent
This workshop will provide an overview of entrepreneurial resources and the Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) that can be used to develop small businesses and patents and trademarks. The workshop will include discussion of the Personal Librarian service, online research guides, databases, and the Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC). Presenters will also discuss related resources offered through the College of Business Administration (COBA) Office of Commercialization, COBA entrepreneurship courses, and COBA centers.

EndNote Citation Management
This workshop will instruct students on the basics of Endnote X8.  By the end, participants will have learned how to download, install, and use their own copy of Endnote.  Participants will also learn how to export/import references from databases into Endnote, how to organize references, how to share citations with other Endnote users, and how to integrate Endnote with MS Word.

Government and Legal Information: Official and Authoritative Sources for Research 
This workshop will demonstrate the importance of using government information resources at all levels to improve your research in business and the social sciences.  The workshop will describe the databases available for researching government information with an emphasis on the electronic resources.  In particular, the emphasis will be on Hathi Trust, FdSys, USA.GOV, Google limiting by gov domain, etc.  This workshop will also provide an overview on doing legal research on Texas and federal legislation using the University Library, government sources, and Law Library resources.

How To Do a Literature Review
Librarians will explain what a literature review is; talk about emerging discipline-oriented standards for literature reviews and how to begin your work developing research strategies; demonstrate how to do searches in three databases-including Web of Knowledge-to find articles on your topic; explore qualitative approaches to determine an article's relative importance; show you how to manage your citations and how to keep up with the most current research on your topic; and discuss some ethical and legal issues related to research.

Identifying Grants for Research and Project Funding
This workshop targets faculty, researchers, and graduate students at Texas Tech University who are interested in identifying grant opportunities. Hands-on experience is offered using the database: COS Pivot.  Pivot assists in finding funding opportunities and in supporting collaboration in research development.  It combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with a unique database of 3 million scholar profiles, drawing from Community of Scholars and Community of Science profiles.

LaTex for Beginners
LaTeX is an important document standard for a variety of disciplines at Texas Tech University. LaTeX has features that make it unique from other document software (MS Word), that allow for greater flexibility. However, as a result of these features, the software may be less intuitive for first time users. This seminar will cover basic installation and navigation of the software, as well as an introduction to the markup language of LaTeX. Participants will gain a basic understanding of how to use the software to create documents, how to enter plain text, and how to format non-standard scripts and type-settings that are relevant to their disciplines.

Library Orientation for International Students
This workshop will provide an orientation to new international students about using University Library resources.  In addition to learning best research practices, attendees will learn about the Personal Librarian service, LibGuides, Google Scholar, Document Delivery, and EndNote. Attendees will also learn how to identify databases for research using subject categories and how to use 3 important databases—Scopus, Web of Science, and Statistica. There will be a 30 minute tour to reinforce the information received in the workshop.

Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics: Finding Relevant Statistics for Your Research
This workshop will provide an overview for finding statistics for research.  The workshop will include a detailed comparison of Proquest Statistical Insight and Statistica.  The workshop will also cover free online sources of statistics including data.gov, Economy at a Glance (BLS), EuroStat, etc.

Managing Your Citations
This workshop provides an overview of two citation managers available to Texas Tech students and faculty (EndNote Web and Mendeley). Based on what you learn at this workshop, you can decide which one will best meet your individual research needs and attend a more advanced hands-on workshop that covers the one you choose offered later in the semester or year.

Managing Your Research Data Responsibly
This workshop will provide an overview of how to facilitate the access and reuse of your data, how to comply with institutional and funding agency policies on data management and how to properly secure your data. Topics include organizing and naming data files, backing up data, data management plans, and managing sensitive data subject to intellectual property law or human subject protection.

Predatory Publishing: What it is and What You Can Do to Protect Your Academic Reputation
With the rise of open access publishing, some publishers now charge author fees as a way to finance the cost of publishing articles without having to charge subscription fees.  However, some publishers have begun to take advantage of the author pays model and require payment from authors without providing adequate editorial services.  The result is that articles are often solicited and accepted for publication in new journals without the customary peer review and editing that is characteristic of established journals.  These predatory journals often have scientific names and list prominent academics on their editorial boards without their permission, making them difficult to distinguish from legitimate journals and publishers.  In this workshop, we will analyze the characteristics of predatory journals and outline strategies that scholars can take to identify them and ensure that their research is only submitted to quality journals and reputable publishers.

Primary Sources
Primary sources can provide unique content for research projects.  This workshop will serve as an introduction to locating and identifying such sources using the TTU Libraries’ resources.

Poster Presentation Workshop
Creating a poster for presentation at a scholarly conference can be challenging. There are many factors that go into the conception and execution of an outstanding poster, one that stands out from the competition. In this workshop, those who attend will learn the importance of defining your audience, as well as the intricacies and aesthetics of poster design and information layout. You will learn about graphics, color, typography, and other key elements that go into the creation of an award-winning design. The significance of rehearsal and presentation strategies and what factors to consider in effective poster assessment are additional topics that will be covered.  This workshop will help to demystify the poster creation and presentation process and provide participants with the skills that they need to produce and showcase an outstanding poster that demands attention. 

Publication Contracts & Author's Rights 
There are many ways to retain copyright and be mindful in in exercising rights as a content creator. This workshop covers the benefits of retaining copyright and making work available for reuse at the author’s discretion.

Publishing your Research
This is a general introductory workshop for those who are interested in getting their research published in scholarly journals and books. It covers such fundamental topics as where to get ideas, how to tell if an idea is worth developing, and how to find appropriate outlets for your work. Those who attend will be given suggestions for how to approach and work with editors, navigating the publishing process, dealing with revisions or rejection, and many other important considerations. This is an ideal workshop to attend if you have never published in the scholarly literature and want to learn more about what is involved. The workshop is taught by academic authors with extensive records of publication who will draw on their own experiences in working with editors and publishers and speak candidly about what it is really like.

Science Databases: Web of Science and Scopus
Texas Tech University Library provides access to Web of Science and Scopus databases, excellent multidisciplinary citation databases. Continuing research is dependent on previous work, especially in the scientific fields. Learn advanced search techniques that will help you perform better research. Take advantage of these comprehensive science indexes to the fullest extent by learning to search and use what you find to broaden your understanding about the topics you are studying. Learn how to use indexed metadata to retrieve results that pertain to your research and eliminate wasted time.  Evaluate fields of study, researchers, or research topics using database analytics tools. Get access to the full-text article by searching library databases or requesting items through interlibrary loan.

Simmons OneView
This workshop will cover the basics of using Simmons OneView including an explanation of consumer data coverage, the comparisons possible between different sets of consumer data, navigating menus and features, expanding/narrowing the focus of queries, and how to read and analyze results.

This is My Town: Developing a Community Profile to Better Understand a Location
This seminar will provide an overview for doing a community profile for a specific area or community.  Library experts from Business, Government information, and the Southwest Collection will illustrate how to best use available resources to develop an in-depth community profile.  This workshop would be useful for classes in business, mass media, nursing, history, etc. or any class that needs to do in-depth research on a community or site.  Resources will include statistical databases, private/local/state/federal/international statistics, etc. Lubbock will be used as an example. 

Using Turnitin Assignments in Blackboard
Texas Tech’s University Library is pleased to offer access to Turnitin—an online tool supporting academic integrity in student work. Turnitin software checks submitted documents against its database of 337+ million student papers, current and archived web pages, and academic publications. Turnitin then generates an Originality Report highlighting excerpts in the submitted document that match similar text in documents found in print and on the Web. For this session, TTU Worldwide eLearning and the University Libraries invite course instructors to a hands-on session demonstrating how to integrate Turnitin into Blackboard courses. Attendees will learn how to create Turnitin assignments in Blackboard, review originality reports for potential plagiarism, and understand the software's capabilities and limitations.

Save