Guides: Social Justice and the Built Environment: Researching Social Justice Issues

Demographics, Statistics, and Mapping

Proquest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistics produced by business, Federal and State agencies, as well as other intergovernmental organizations.

General Social Survey (GSS) Data Explorer
GSS has been a reliable source of data to help researchers, students, and journalists monitor and explain trends in American behaviors, demographics, and opinions.
KidsCount Data Center
premier source of data on children and families
Mexican Migration Project Database
MMP Database is the result of an ongoing multidisciplinary study of Mexican Migration to the United States. It contains data gathered since 1982 in surveys administered every year in Mexico and in the United States.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Over 660 thousand large-scale maps of over 12 thousand American cities and towns.

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Explore Census Data
HUD OpenData on ArcGIS
HUD's geospatial datasets, web-based mapping tools, and application programming interfaces (APIs).
Comprehensive Housing Market Analyses
factual information, findings, and conclusions contained in the reports could also be useful to builders, mortgagees, and others concerned with local housing conditions and trends. For each analysis, HUD economists develop a factual framework based on information available, as of a particular date, from both local and national sources.
HUD Case Studies
HUD USER publishes a series of case studies based on federal, state and local strategies that increase affordable housing opportunities, apply sustainable features and practices, and increase access to public transportation.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.
Congressional Research Service
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternative.

ProQuest Congressional (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.

Call Numbers Ranges to browse:

Subjects/Keywords to Search

Building laws; Zoning; Architecture--Standards
City Planning--Evaluation; City Planning--Social aspects
Regional and Urban Planning; Community development; Sustainable development
Discrimination in Housing; Low-income housing
Urban Renewal; Urbanization; Suburbs
Mexican-American Border Region; Borderlands
Racism; Prejudices; Bias; Race relations; Anti-racism; Discrimination; Interpersonal Relations

Reference Sources:

Keywords for Disability Studies
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1479845639
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1786844044
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013