History of the Borderlands

• Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals: Historic information about the 2012 immigration policy change related to deferred action for people who came to the U.S. as children.

• Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR):EOIR has responsibility for adjudicating immigration cases via court proceedings, appellate reviews, and administrative hearings.

• House Committee on the Judiciary: Parent committee of the House of Representatives' Subcommittee on Immigration and Border Security.

• Immigration Law: A Beginner's Guide: This guide from the Library of Congress points to critical legal resources related to immigration.

• Ninth Circuit Court: Immigration Outline: Court-developed resource to assist attorneys in analyzing immigration petitions for review. The 9th Circuit Court serves 9 western states. 

• Senate Judiciary Committee: Subcommittee on Immigration, Refugees and Border Security: Senate committee responsible for immigration and citizenship laws and oversight.

• Immigration Statistics: Statistical reports and publications from the Department of Homeland Security. Includes access to the annual Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (1996- ).

• U.S. Census Data by Subjects: Points to census data resources. Arranged alphabetically by subject (see especially: foreign born, immigration, international migration).

• Removal Statistics: ICE statistics on individuals removed from the U.S.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States: Presents federal statistics on a range of subjects. (Tip: rather than browsing the topical sections, try loading the pdf version and then search the index for relevant terms - e.g. foreign born population, immigrants. Numbers noted in the index are for table numbers, not page numbers.)

Environmental and Health Issues: 

• International Boundary and Water Commission, United States and Mexico: IBWC is tasked with finding binational solutions to issues that arise during the application of United States-Mexico treaties regarding boundary demarcation, national ownership of waters, sanitation, water quality, and flood control in the border region.

• U.S.-Mexico Border 2020: An EPA program emphasizing regional, bottom-up approaches for decision making, priority setting, and project implementation to address the environmental and public health problems in the border region.

• United States-Mexico Border Health Commission: Binational health commission established in 2000, whose mission is to provide international leadership to optimize health and quality of life along the U.S.-México border.

• United States - Mexico Public Health:  Consult this resource for U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention information about U.S.-México border health information. 

Government Information:

• Congressional Budget Office: Immigration: Non-partisan reports on immigration issues, prepared for the U.S. Congress.

• Department of Homeland Security (DHS): DHS responsibilities include border security, citizenship services, and immigration enforcement.

• Homeland Security Digital Library: Presents security-related documents from a variety of federal government agencies and other organizations.

• ProQuest Congressional: Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes bills, laws and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, Congressional Record, and Congressional Research Service Reports.

• Government Studies on Immigration: Provides access to a large number of immigration reports (2002- ) from the Congressional Research Service, Government Accountability Office, and the Department of Homeland Security.

• U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS): USCIS oversees lawful immigration to the United States.

• U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP): CBP works to secure the U.S. border, facilitate lawful international trade and travel, and enforce immigration and drug laws.

• U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE): ICE has investigative and enforcement responsibilities for federal immigration laws, customs laws, and air security laws.

• Center for Immigration Studies (CIS): Organization for research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the United States. Features news, articles, and publications as well as topics that reflect concerns of the U.S. government, such as terrorism and national security, population and the environment, and guest workers. Includes an Employer Sanctions Database

• National Immigration Law Center (NILC): Find issue briefs, articles, and other material about "immigration, public benefits, and employment laws affecting immigrants and refugees." Also provides an analysis of pending immigration reform legislation, which includes topics such as guest workers, driver's licenses, and border controls. Other features include links to related federal and California sites and information for Hurricane Katrina survivors. From an organization "dedicated to protecting and promoting the rights of low-income immigrants and their family members."

• The Wilson Center:  As part of the larger Wilson Institute - the Mexico Institute seeks to improve understanding, communication, and cooperation between Mexico and the United States by promoting original research, encouraging public discussion, and proposing policy options for enhancing the bilateral relationship. A binational Advisory Board, chaired by Luis Téllez Kuenzler and Earl A. Wayne, oversees the work of the Mexico Institute.