Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses

This PLOS article provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a meta-analysis.

Search and discover other protocols, start a project and add collaborators, and share your protocol with others using built-in version control.

PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison of the completed review with what was planned in the protocol.

SYREAF provide a site for publication of review protocols related to animals and food.

Meta-Essentials is a free tool for meta-analysis. It facilitates the integration and synthesis of effect sizes from different studies. The tool consists of a set of workbooks designed for Microsoft Excel that, based on your input, automatically produces all the required statistics, tables, figures, and more.

A comprehensive collection of functions for conducting meta-analyses in R. The package includes functions to calculate various effect sizes or outcome measures, fit fixed-, random-, and mixed-effects models to such data, carry out moderator and meta-regression analyses, and create various types of meta-analytical plots (e.g., forest, funnel, radial, L'Abbe, Baujat, bubble, and GOSH plots).

MetaLight is a software application designed to support the teaching and learning of meta-analysis. It is freely available and, as it uses the Silverlight browser plugin, can be run on just about any PC, thus facilitating its use in teaching environments such as PC labs.

OpenMEE is open-source software for performing meta-analysis suited to the need of ecologist and evolutionary biologists.

OpenMeta[Analyst] is a completely open-source, cross-platform software for advanced meta-analysis.

Anyone who goes through the process of screening large amounts of texts such as newspapers, scientific abstracts for a systematic review, or ancient texts, knows how labor intensive this can be. With the rapidly evolving field of Artificial Intelligence (AI), the large amount of manual work can be reduced or even completely replaced by software using active learning.

Colandr is an open access machine-learning assisted online platform for conducting reviews and syntheses of text-based evidence (e.g. articles, documents, etc.)

revtools is an R package to support article screening for evidence synthesis. It provides a free, easy-to-use, open-source environment to conduct your literature review or meta-analysis. You can use it to visualise patterns in bibliographic data, interactively select or exclude individual articles or words, and save the results for later analysis.

RobotAnalyst is designed for searching and screening reference collections obtained from literature database queries. It combines search engine functionality with machine learning and text mining technology, including topic modelling and relevancy feedback-based text classification models, to minimise the human workload involved in identifying relevant references.

SyRF aids systematic review and meta-analysis of in vivo studies. Find information, links, articles, and useful tools to guide you through your review

SysRev enables you to search the literature, upload research documents, add collaborators and review. The basic version is free.