Maps and Photography Collections
This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. Northwestern Univ.
Over 250 online images. Univ. of Florida.
AfricaMap is derived from Harvard University's WorldMap.
Maps dating from 16th c. Univ. of Florida.
In French. French explorer, founder of Brazzaville, Congo, Governor of the French Congo, born in Italy, 1852-1905. Biography, colonial history of Gabon, Congo River, slavery, photographs, illustrations, original documents. Chronology, bibliography. Includes 3-D Flash animated introduction and audio which requires a sound card and headset or speakers.
In Dutch, English, French. Photographs by Edmond Fortier on historical postcards,1900 - 1910. Has an exhibition of postcards from Tombouctou (1906), Benin (1908), Saint-Louis (1900), Djenné (1905). "Includes photographs of l 'Almami" Samori Touré, the son of El Hajj Umar. As photographer and publisher of postcards, he visited Senegal and Guinea, Mali in 1906, Ivory- coast, Benin and Lagos in 1908..." Sells copies of the postcards.
From the Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
In English and German. The Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main has put on-line a large keyword searchable database of colonial era photographs, 1822-1936, from the archives of the Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft [German Colonial Society], a major organization behind Germany's colonial expansion. Covers Namibia, Tanzania, Cameroon, Togo, etc. One can click on the small photos to see a larger version. The database can be searched by Region, Subject Areas, Keyword, Person, Photographer, People. The collection, of thousands of photographs, is also being microfilmed for preservation.
In French. "Ce site présente l'exposition universelle de Bruxelles 1910 à travers les cartes postales et documents de la collection personnelle de Xavier Languy." Has postcards of the pavillions for Congo, Madagascar, Mozambique.
Development Ecology Information Service's Map portal to sustainable rural development experiences. Locals are superimposed on FAO soil and agro-climate maps of Africa.
Directory of 2.8 million cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to maps of each town's location. Contains many small towns and villages worldwide. clink on the country, then town name for locations and maps.
Recent maps of Africa. Univ. of Florida.
Includes over 1,700 photographs showing life in East Africa from 1860-1960. Materials part of the Melville J. Herkovits Library of African Studies, Northwestern University.
This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. Northwestern Univ.
Over 250 online images. Univ. of Florida.
Maps dating from 16th c. Univ. of Florida.
Recent maps of Africa. Univ. of Florida.
U. of Texas.