Carlson, Paul Howard Papers, 1871-1998 and undated 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
- Contains research material and hand notes used in Pecos Bill, Carlson's published doctoral dissertation on William R. Shafter, a Civil War commander of black troops and an officer of the Southwest frontier and the Spanish-American War. Includes materials on the Shafter Mine and Presidio Mining Company. In addition, there are materials related to Dr. Paul Carlson’s research on Empire Builder and The Plains Indians. Items include photocopied map of Texas designating the Frying Pan Ranch and photocopies of William H. Bush.
Chatman, J. A. (Joseph Alvin) Papers, 1911-1966 & undated 3 boxes (2.3 linear ft)
- Includes correspondence, financial, legal, printed and scrapbook material, photographs, and literary productions concerning Dr. J. A. Chatman's activities as a physician in Lubbock, Texas. The collection bulks (1911-1962) with materials on the Lone Star State Medical, Dental, and Pharmaceutical Association, which includes biographies of Afro-American doctors in Texas (1941-1962).
Dillon, Merton Lynn Papers, 1960; ca. 1960-1961 3 wallets (0.3 linear feet)
- Consists of literary productions, including ribbon copy, galley proof, and page proof of Dillon's book, Elijah P. Lovejoy: Abolitionist Editor (1961). Also includes copies of Dillon's articles on abolitionist John Mason Peck. Historian, author, and former faculty at Texas Tech, Dillon authored several articles and books on the abolitionist movement.
Kelley, Louis A. Collection, 1959-2001 1 wallet (0.1 linear feet)
- The three disks contain scanned images: one 22" x 26" framed news clipping, one framed Dirk West cartoon, one "Then" and "Now" print of the New Mexico State University Aggies (1959 & 2001), one laminated news clipping, one scrapbook commemorating Kelley's induction, and seventeen photographs. Louis A. Kelley was head football coach at Lubbock's Estacado and Dunbar High Schools. An African-American, he broke barriers as a coach and established an outstanding reputation with his athletes and school administrators. He was inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.
Kirkpatrick, J. R. Papers, 1909-1937 1 wallet (0.1 linear feet)
- Includes the literary production, "Black Cowboy Charley Glass," by Kirkpatrick.
Lovejoy, Elijah Parish Papers, 1804-1891 and undated 4 boxes
- Elijah Parish Lovejoy, born in 1802 near Albion, Maine, was a preacher, editor, and abolitionist. He studied theology at Princeton Theological Seminary in 1832, and preached in St. Louis. He was editor of the Observer, a reform newspaper. In 1835 he moved to Alton, Illinois, and established a newspaper that met with opposition in the town. Three of his presses were destroyed by mobs, and Lovejoy died in 1837 while defending a fourth press. The collection includes correspondence, sermons, lectures, newspapers, news clippings, and memorabilia created by or related to Lovejoy and his family. The collection bulks with correspondence (1824-1853) and concerns abolition, temperance, religion, and theology.
Lubbock Community Planning Council Records, 1954-1965 57 leaves
- Consists of reports and printed material on minority neighborhoods, mental health, migrant workers, recreation, and public health services in Lubbock, Texas. This social services council was created in 1954 to assist local service agencies in coordinating their work. The council combined with the Community Chest in 1957, and worked to encourage cooperation and planning between agencies and to help raise funds for them. The Community Chest and the Council were forerunners of the United Way.
Lubbock Community Planning Council Records, 1960-1964 3 wallets (0.3 feet)
- Bulks with general files, printed material, and reports concerning the Council in 1960-1964. Of note is the April 1960 “Report of the Negro Section Committee.”
Nash, Robert (Bob) A., 1852-2005 and undated, 2 boxes (2.0 linear feet)
- Some files are correspondence plus files by Paul H. Carlson for his book The Buffalo Soldier Tragedy of 1877. Nolan files are copied from the National Archive. Nash, a Lubbock broadcaster, collected on the Buffalo Soldiers. Nolan, born in Ireland, came to America in 1852. He served in the U. S. Army in Texas, Florida, and Kansas. One assignment was as commander of the Black cavalry divisions, the 9th and 10th. One expedition turned tragic in 1877 when his troops and some buffalo hunters became lost in the Llano Estacado.
Scott, George Papers, 1944-1979 1 microfilm reel (25 ft.): negative
- Includes newspaper clippings, correspondence, programs, photographs, and miscellaneous material on Scott and his activities with the NAACP. Bulks with a scrapbook (1944-1979) concerning the life and career of George Scott, Jr. Also includes a typed manuscript of A Bicentennial History of Taft, Oklahoma. Scott was born in 1926, and graduated from Langston University, Langston, Oklahoma, in 1949. He later served as teacher, coach, vice-principal, and principal at Dunbar High School, Lubbock, Texas. In 1969, he was named Assistant Dean of Students at Texas Tech University. He is a member of many civic boards and organizations, and is the president of the NAACP in Lubbock.
Simmons, Mae Papers, 1943-1977 1 microfilm reel (40 ft.): negative
- Includes newsclippings, programs, correspondence, photographs, three scrapbooks (1943-1977) about the life and career of Mae Simmons. Simmons was a schoolteacher and administrator in Lubbock, Texas for 29 years. Mae Simmons Community Center and Mae Simmons City Park in Lubbock are named for her. Born in Navarro, Dawson County, Simmons moved to Lubbock in 1939 and then to Las Vegas, Nevada, in 1978.
Stafford, B. S. Unpublished memoir, 1853-1932 20 microfilm reels
- Son of a South Carolina slaveholder, Stafford describes plantation life, the slave trade, breaking up of slave families, and a mixed-race church, with black people restricted to seating in the gallery.
Wiswall, Austin, 1863-1912,170 leaves
- Correspondence and a diary. Bulks with letters (1863-1864) concerning personal experiences, family matters, and information relating to the Civil War. Some letters describe recruiting, behavior, fighting skills, movements and activities of the 9th US Colored Troops in the Civil War. A civic leader and soldier, Wiswall was born in 1840 in Illinois, nephew of Elijah Parish Lovejoy and Owen Lovejoy. He served as a lieutenant in the 9th United States Colored Troops, 3rd Division, 10th Corps, US Army. Wiswall was captured by Confederate forces in August 1864, and held at Andersonville and Libby prisons until released by exchange.
