Free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress's collections.
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the nation's construction and the development of the federal government and its role in national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922.
Contains the proceedings of both the British House of Commons and the House of Lords back to 1803.
Records for 35,000+ individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.
1,000+ images, many from the days of slavery.
History of the British Caribbean through government documents, photographs, and maps.
Caribbean cultural, historical, and research materials: slavery, emancipation, and other subjects.
Speeches, letters, graphics, interviews, and articles.
Nineteenth-century resources related to slavery in the French Americas, including Haiti.
History of African Americans and other ethnic minorities.
Digitized collection of 18th- and 19th-century documents related to the transatlantic slave trade.
Digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa along with the accompanying text.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Users can search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.
Digital copies of ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas.
Includes rare books, maps and newspapers that tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place.
Full-text of one of the world's largest collection of books printed in Spanish America. Primarily in Spanish, the site includes links to sub-collections by country.
Images from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University from 1492 to ca. 1825. Includes both North and South America.
Historical U. S. newspapers digitized under the auspices of the Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.