Guides: HIST 4339: Children of War: Databases, Articles, & Journals

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Cambridge Histories: History of America and the World Volumes 1-4 This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge History of America and the World (CHAW) offers an intensive examination of America's relations with the rest of the world from the colonial era to the Present. The four volume reference work will cover a five hundred year period in chronological order: 1500 to 1812, 1812 to 1900, 1900 to 1945, and 1945 to the Present.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
Legal treatises 1800 to 1926.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
17+ Million volumes from libraries around the world.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

HeinOnline History of International Law
Includes more than 600 titles dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions.

Gale OneFile: Contemporary Womens Issues This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq This link opens in a new window
Documents the U.S. Intelligence Communitys production of intelligence concerning the most important weapons systems that other nations produced or tried to produce during World War II, the Cold War, and the post-Cold War era.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000) This link opens in a new window
The United States and the Two Koreas: 1969-2000 is a collection of recently declassified records documenting the history of U.S. policy toward and relations with South and North Korea from the Nixon to the Clinton administrations.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq This link opens in a new window
Documents the U.S. Intelligence Communitys production of intelligence concerning the most important weapons systems that other nations produced or tried to produce during World War II, the Cold War, and the post-Cold War era.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977 This link opens in a new window
Comprising over 15,500 telcons, this collection documents Kissinger's conversations with top officials in the Nixon and Ford administrations, as well as noted journalists, ambassadors, and business leaders close to the White House.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968 This link opens in a new window
Includes both classic and relatively well-known documentary sources as well as the most recent declassified materials, with a principal focus on 1961 to 1968.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975 This link opens in a new window
Incorporating newly released documents, virtually all previously classified, it covers all the major issues from the period, including diplomatic, military, and intelligence aspects of the Vietnam war during the period of the Nixon and Ford administrations.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq This link opens in a new window
Documents the U.S. Intelligence Communitys production of intelligence concerning the most important weapons systems that other nations produced or tried to produce during World War II, the Cold War, and the post-Cold War era.

War in History
Peer reviewed articles which attempt to place military history into a broader definition of history by examining war in all its aspects: economic, social and political as well as purely military. Articles cover all time periods.
War & Society
Publishes articles on the causes, experience and impact of war in all periods of history.
Terrorism and Political Violence
Terrorism and Political Violence advances scholarship on a broad range of issues associated with terrorism and political violence.
more...less...
including subjects such as:

the political meaning of terrorist activity,
violence by rebels and by states,
the links between political violence and organized crime,
protest,
rebellion,
revolution,
the influence of social networks,
and the impact on human rights.
Studies in conflict and terrorism
Original articles, and theoretical and empirical studies on the causes of conflicts, their motivations and their forms, ethnic and religious conflicts, conflicts of the 1990s as they are now being waged in varying degrees of intensity in the world today.
African journal of terrorism and insurgency research
African Journal of Terrorism and Insurgency Research is an international, double-blind, peer-reviewed and interdisciplinary periodical dedicated to theoretical and empirical research on all aspects of terrorism, insurgency and counter-insurgency strategies.