Guides: HIST 4339: Children of War: Vietnam Archive

Collections

The Vietnam Center and Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.

Sheon Montgomery, Reference Archivist for the VNCA, graciously created the following finding aid for this research guide. Please reach out to Sheon for any questions or further research inquiries.

Sheon Montgomery (CA, MSI),

Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive (VNCA)

Box 41041 / 2805 15th St., SWC Room 108, Lubbock TX 79409-1041

vnca@ttu.edu / 806-834-5235 (desk) / 806-742-9010 (office)

Operation Babylift

Byron & Lana Noone Collection / Operation Babylift
Scope and Contents - 6 folders (0.3 linear feet) of newspaper transcripts, website message transcripts, correspondence, and printed pages from Lana Noone's website (Vietnambabylift.org) document Noone's involvement with Operation Babylift and her efforts to gather and preserve the history of the event. The bulk of the materials date from the post-war period.

Vietnam's Wounded Waifs: the U.S. government is not doing all it should in behalf of the Vietnamese children who are casualties of the war - The Christian Century - Magazine Article
Author: Marjorie Hope
Document Item Number: 27920108001
[Number of Pages: 2]
Item Creation Date: 14 September 1966
Collection: Ming-Suyan Jhong Collection
Association: Operation Babylift
Hearing Before the Subcommittee to Investigate Problems Connected with Refugees and Escapees, U.S. Senate - Indochina Evacuation and Refugee Problems, Part 1: Operation Babylift and Humanitarian Needs
Document Item Number: 2390910002
[Number of Pages: 136]
more...less...
Item Creation Date: 08 April 1975
Collection: Douglas Pike Collection: Unit 11 - Monographs
Item Permalink: https://www.vietnam.ttu.edu/virtualarchive/items.php?item=2390910002
Behind the babylift: guilt, anticommunism and an easy escape for the children of Saigon's rulers - The San Francisco Bay Guardian - Article
Document Item Number: 2132603041
[Number of Pages: 4]
Author(s): Katy Butler
more...less...
Item Creation Date: 02 May 1975
Collection: Douglas Pike Collection: Unit 02 - Military Operations

The War Cradle: the untold story of "Operation Babylift" by Shirley Peck-Barnes
Call Number: DS559.8.C53 P42 2000
ISBN: 0970688407
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
An overview of the ordinary people who were excited into action, despite an unpopular war; to seek out the abandoned children of Vietnam to give them new life, fresh hope, and find homes for them in the West.
The Life We Were Given by Dana Sachs
Call Number: DS559.8.C53 S23 2010
ISBN: 9780807042410
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Describes the history of Operation Babylift, the U.S. government's plan to airlift 3,000 displaced Vietnamese children before the fall of Saigon, and examines the lives of the displaced children after the operation.
Escape from Saigon by Andrea Warren
Call Number: https://ttu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1boli6j/01TTU_ALMA21186441160002611
ISBN: 0374400237
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
Chronicles the experiences of an orphaned Amerasian boy from his birth and early childhood in Saigon through his departure from Vietnam in the 1975 Operation Babylift and his subsequent life as the adopted son of an American family in Ohio.
Hope for the Children of War by Bach-Thuy Le-Thi
Call Number: DS559.8.C53 B238 2014
ISBN: 9781500323363
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
The 40th anniversary of Operation Babylift in April 2015 has brought new attention to this forgotten piece of Vietnamese and American history, and Le-Thi Bach-Thuy's story is an amazing, emotional, personal account of life in Viet Nam in those years. Her life, work, and spirit are indomitable.

Amerasian children – Dust of Life / War Orphans / Abandoned Children

Report on Visit to Vietnam, 4-16 September 1965 - Agency for International Development (USAID)
Report on Visit to Vietnam, 4-16 September 1965 - Agency for International Development (USAID)
more...less...
Document Item Number: 25590107002
[Number of Pages: 16]
Author(s): Elisabeth S. Enochs, Social Welfare Advisor
Item Creation Date: 4-16 September 1965
Collection: Harry Wagner Collection
Diary of Mary Emeny
re: Voluntary International Service Assignments (VISA) program, 1964-1968 - Part 1 of 2 [Typed Transcription] [VNCA NOTE: 64 mentions of "orphan"]
Document Item Number: 0840102001
more...less...
[Number of Pages: 128]
Item Creation Date: 26 August - 31 December 1967 [Typed Transcription]
Collection: Mary Emeny Collection
Item Permalink: https://www.vietnam.ttu.edu/virtualarchive/items.php?item=0840102001
Diary of Mary Emeny 2
re: Voluntary International Service Assignments (VISA) program, 1964-1968 - Part 2 of 2 [Typed Transcription] [VNCA NOTE: 219 mentions of "orphan"]
more...less...
[Number of Pages: 173]
Item Creation Date: 1 January - 15 July 1968
Collection: Mary Emeny Collection
Item Permalink: https://www.vietnam.ttu.edu/virtualarchive/items.php?item=0840103001