Texas Tech University's Research Day Program invites local high schools to campus for a personalized, immersive college-readiness experience that bridges the gap between high school and college-level research. Our goal is to equip students with the essential information literacy skills crucial for academic success.
Our program is customizable to meet each school's unique needs, offering a variety of engaging options. Teachers can "customize their research roadmap" by selecting from interactive library instruction sessions, dedicated research periods, guided campus and library tours, dynamic workshops, and informative presentations.
Further enhance the experience by including sessions with our Southwest Collection/Special Collections Archive or the Museum at Texas Tech, offering students an opportunity to engage with collections on local or regional history or to explore museum careers.
Through our Research Day program, Texas Tech University aims to foster academic growth, ease the transition to college life, and inspire future academic achievement, tailored to each participating school.
🔍 Library Instruction Session
Hands-on introduction to college-level research tools, evaluating sources, and critical information literacy skills.
📚 Dedicated Research Time
Students dive into individual or group research using our university databases, guided by librarian support.
🏛️ Libraries Tour
Explore Texas Tech’s Libraries and get familiar with the their layout, spaces, and services.
🛠️ Dynamic Media Services & Makerspace Experience
Tech meets creativity in our digital lab—perfect for exploring new media, digital storytelling, and hands-on research tools.
📂 Southwest Collection / Special Collections Archival Literacy Session or SWC Visit
Students engage with literacy in rare documents, regional history, and archival materials that show how original research is built. With a 2 week or more Advance notice, a visit may be arranged.
🎨 Museum at Texas Tech University Museum Collection and Career Session (At the library) or a visit to Museum
A guided exploration of museum collections, interpretation, and careers.
Fashion & Design: Meet with the Curator of Clothing and Textiles to study garments, quilts or needlework in the collection which are examples for design or objects of history or to discuss museum career opportunities. (1 week notice appreciated but depends on curator's schedule).
