Guides: English: Recommended Databases and Resources

Personal Librarian for English

Hello, I am the personal librarian for the English department. Students, staff, or faculty are welcome to visit in person, by email, or by phone for any library or research questions.

So what do personal librarians do?

help with any questions you have about the library
help you find articles, books, and other resources
help you request materials through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
help you create citations and use citation style guides
help distance students navigate library resources

Recommended Databases

Top databases for students studying English language and literature. Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and other academic resources.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

English Databases
Complete list of English Databases A-Z.
Literary Research Guide
An annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies, based on James L. Harner's 6th ed. Available by CC-BY 4.0 license.

Google Scholar + TTU

Google Scholar can easily connect to TTU materials. Follow the simple instructions in this video.

Google Scholar + TTU
Link to above video, gives instructions for connecting Google Scholar with TTU Libraries' resources.

Google Scholar
by Shelby Hebert Last Updated Jun 10, 2022 554 views this year