Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

This is a guide to finding resources in the field of sociology.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Quinn
Contact:
Reference Room Mezzanine M 113
806-834-2148

Getting Some Background

The library has many useful encyclopedias and handbooks that can be helpful for getting some background and context on your research topic. These include works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology, Encyclopedia of Social Theory, Concise Encyclopedia of Comparative Sociology, Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia, 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook, International Handbook of Sociology, The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Methods, and Principles of Sociological Inquiry-Qualitative and Quantitative Methods. 

Related Research Guides

Anthropology
Information about how to access databases, journals, and articles as well as books, theses, and dissertations, and web resources.

Psychological Sciences
A guide to help you find resources such as journal articles, books, e-journals, dissertations and theses related to psychology.

Social Work
This guide to finding resources in the field of social work includes recommended databases, how to find social work journals, books, theses and dissertations

Best Bets for Finding Sociology Articles

Best Bets for Finding Sociology Journals

Many academic journals that were previously available in print can now be found online by clicking the E-Journals A-Z link below. The TTU Libraries also hold a number of print journals, which can be found by clicking the LIbrary Catalog link below.