The late Michael Kearl, a professor at Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas, created this interesting website, which is full of a “theater of ideas,” as he describes it. It includes data analyses, essays, links and viewpoints. Current sociology students often find its guide to writing a research paper especially useful. Meanwhile, all sociologists will appreciate the information available on this website, which is about topics as varied as demography, death, gerontology, inequality, marriage and race.
The American Sociological Association is the national professional membership association for sociologists and others who are interested in sociology. The ASA website features information about sociology careers, professional development, information about grants and fellowships, ethics, publications, DEI, and public engagement.
The U.S. Census Bureau website is a good source for information about the U.S. population. It includes survey results arranged topically by category. The major categories include People & Households, Business & Industry, Geography, Newsroom, and Special Topics. There is also an alphabetical subject index and a site-specific search engine.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database indexes articles and books dealing with all aspects of criminal justice and law enforcement including: courts, police, juvenile justice, and crime prevention. Cited documents include both United States and international research reports, journal articles, books and audio-visual materials.
The Australian Social Science Data Archive (ASSDA), located in the Australian Social and Demographic Research Institute, at the Australian National Research Institute was set up in 1981 with a brief to collect and preserve computer-readable data relating to social, political and economic affairs and to make the data available for further analysis. ASSDA collects data files from all parts of Australia, and from many different types of organisations, including universities, market research companies, and government organisations.
The Government Documents Center at the University of Michigan has assembed an extensive collection of links related to demographics and housing. The resources collected on the site are arranged in several broad categories, including 2010 Census, American Community Survey, Historical Census Data, Census Geography, and Census Aids.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
TRAILS, the Teaching Resources and Innovation Library for Sociology, provides a way to easily locate peer-reviewed teaching materials, showcase teaching ideas, develop professionally, and join a community of scholarly teachers. You will find great assignments, syllabi, lectures, and other teaching ideas at TRAILS.