Guides: Sequential Art : Databases, Journals, and Articles

Databases

These are just a handful of the many databases that could be used to study sequential art and related topics available through the Texas Tech Unviersity Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books held at TTU and libraries around the world.
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and utilizes existing periodical holdings.
America History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers 1,700 journals on the literature and history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present day.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Streaming Video Collections
Here is a full list of streaming video available via TTU Libraries

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Good for film reviews and finding general information. Indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for over 100 of the indexed journals. Currently includes a half million records, many with ten years archive from each journal.

COMICLOPEDIA - ILLUSTRATED ARTIST COMPENDIUM
Online since 1 November 1999, the Comiclopedia is the world's largest overview of comic artists.

Journals and Articles

The TTU Libraries hold a number of print journals, which can also be found through the Library Catalog. In addition to print, patrons can access several E-Journals online.

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.

Sequential Art Journals at TTU
List of E-Journals

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.

Animation Journals
List of Animation E-Journals.
Comics Forum
Articles by scholars and academics: a place for thoughtful expression.
Comics Grid
From webpage: The Comics Grid is a collaborative, open peer-reviewed online academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship.
The Comics Journal
One of the longest running journals related to discussing all things comics.
European Comic Art
European Comic Art is the first English-language scholarly publication devoted to the study of European-language graphic novels, comic strips, comic books and caricature.
ImageTEXT: Interdisciplinary Comics Studies
Online peer reviewed journal.
Ink/Art
Anthologies and scholarly treatments devoted to the work of women in the medium of comics are not new (see our Bookshelf page), yet women remain a minority in the field, and as a minority we have a presence that is less visible; a voice that is less heard; our work carries themes that are less critically explored, and we inherit and continue to shape a politics of representation that is weighted differently in the historically male-dominated field of image and text.
Inks the Journal of the Comics Studies Society
Inks: The Journal of the Comics Studies Society, features scholarly research on sequential art, graphic narrative, and cartooning. The journal brings together scholarly essays, archival materials, and conversations with leading comics professionals. Inks highlights scholarship from a wide range of academic disciplines and engages all periods of comic history, with both a US and an international comics focus
International Journal of Comic Art
The International Journal of Comic Art is published two times yearly.
International and multidisciplinary in scope, IJOCA aims to publish scholarly and readable research on any aspect of comic art, defined as animation, comic books, newspaper and magazine strips, caricature, gag and political cartoons, humorous art, and humor or cartoon magazines.
Journal of Anime and Manga Studies
The goal of the Journal of Anime and Manga Studies is to provide a space for academics, students, and independent researchers examining the field of anime, manga, cosplay, and fandom studies to access high-quality research about these topics and share their research with others.
Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics
The Standard Peer Reviewed Journal in the Field.
Sane Journal
Online peer reviewed journal related to comics and education.
Studies in Comics
Studies in Comics aims to describe the nature of comics, to identify the medium as a distinct art form and to address the medium's formal properties.

Newspapers and Magazines

Historic New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historic New York Times Newspaper collection, 1851 to 2010.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, etc. magazines.

Rob's Guides

Welcome, I am the personal librarian for The College of Visual and Performing Arts as well as Film Studies. I am also known as the Popular Culture Librarian.

Students, staff, or faculty are welcome to visit in person, by email, or by phone for any library or research questions.

So what do personal librarians do?

help with any questions you have about the library
help you find articles, books, and other resources
help you request materials through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
help you create citations and use citation style guides
help distance students navigate library resources

These are the subject guides I manage:

Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 107 views this year
Film Studies
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 96 views this year
Music
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 792 views this year
Sequential Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 44 views this year
Theatre and Dance
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 53 views this year

Sequential Art

Librarian for Talkington College of Visual and Performing Arts/Film Studies/Popular Culture

Meet Your Librarian (Video)

Five Questions with Rob Weiner

Databases

Journals and Articles

Newspapers and Magazines

Rob's Guides