Guides: Government Information: Government Web Resources

What is the Texas Tech Federal Depository Library and what are its services?

The Texas Tech Federal Depository is 1 of 2 regional depositories in Texas. The other depository is the Texas State Library.

What is the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) ?

"The Federal Depository Library Program (44 U.S.C. § 19), administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, was established by Congress in 1813 to ensure that the American public has access to Government information in depository libraries throughout the U.S. and its territories."

"You can visit and use free of charge the collections at any of our Nation’s 1,150 Federal depository libraries. Locate a Federal depository library near you."

What Resources Will I Find at a Depository Library?

"With a network of librarians to provide expert reference assistance and facilitate access to materials located at other libraries, you will find:

information on health, careers, business opportunities, the military, science, technology, travel, nutrition, and more
books, maps, microfiche, journals, and periodicals
access to digital Government information resources
historical publications dating back to the early days of the United States

Federal depository libraries collaborate with one another to provide a vast array of unique historical and current Federal documents and they carry a collection of basic titles available for immediate use. See the Depository Library Spotlight where the specialized services and unique collections of a different library is highlighted every month."

Regional Deppsitory Libraries are responsible for supporting the other Selective depositories in their state.

There can be 2 depositories designated per Congressional District.

there is usually 1 Regional per state, but because of its size, Texas has 2 Regionals.

Depository libraries have significantly more government documents and links to electronic government information as well as specially trained staff to help patrons effectively use government information.

Government Web Resources

All-domain Anomaly Resolution Office (AARO)
"Welcome to the website for the All-domain Anomaly Resolution Office (AARO). Our team of experts is leading the U.S. government’s efforts to address Unidentified Anomalous Phenomena (UAP) using a rigorous scientific framework and a data-driven approach. Since its establishment in July 2022, AARO has taken important steps to improve data collection, standardize reporting requirements, and mitigate the potential threats to safety and security posed by UAP. We look forward to using this site to regularly update the public about AARO’s work and findings, and to provide a mechanism for UAP reporting."
Census
The U.S. Census Bureau website is a good source for information about the U.S. population. It includes survey results arranged topically by category. The major categories include People & Households, Business & Industry, Geography, Newsroom, and Special Topics. There is also an alphabetical subject index and a site-specific search engine.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Formerly known as THOMAS
Constitution.Annotated
The Constitution Annotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time and is now available on this new site with upgraded search capabilities. The online Constitution Annotated includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions.
Covid Tests.gov NEW
Allows ordering Covid Tests. Links to "other testing resources for free testing locations in your area".
Data.gov:The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
"Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."
Economic Report of the Presidenty
"The Economic Report of the President (ERP) is an annual report produced by the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration’s domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation’s economic progress with text and extensive data appendices.".
Govinfo: Discover U.S. Government Information
Beta test site which will eventually replace FDSYS in 2017. This is designed to be more user friendly than FDSYS. Users can use basic, advanced, or citation searches and browse A-Z, by category, by Date, by Congressional Committee, and by Government Author (coming soon).
Govinfo: U.S. Government Information
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
NASA
Guide to all of NASA: space program, education programs, electronic publications, photos, Internet resources, etc.
Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the U.S. Capitol
Covers Hearings, Business Meeting, Live Webcasts, hearing recordings, etc. from this Select Committee.
Supreme Court Nominations and Background: About
"This Proquest LibGuide contains links to information on the nomination process to the Supreme Court, to the current make-up of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and links to confirmation hearings."
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
"Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL."
USA.gov: Government Made Easy
"As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web."

Government -Related Web Resources

Attack on the U.S. Capitol / Impeachment: LiBguide
"The goal of this guide is to compile documents and statements by government officials related to the riots at the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021 by supporters of Donald Trump."