Guides: Museum Science & Heritage Management: Databases & Journal Articles

Suggested Resources—Humanities

America History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

The databases listed here focus on subjects in the humanities: art, architecture, history, and more.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the early 19th century to the present.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 600 art publications covering peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of works of art from selected periodicals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, and decoration.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including political, social, economic, military and women's history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archival issues of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other valuable materials.

The databases listed here cover subjects in the sciences: chemistry, natural history - biology, botany, and others.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text database offers journal articles and book chapters from peer-reviewed sources in the sciences including life and health sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's leading literature in sciences, social sciences, and the humanities, from 1981 to the present.

Follow the button or Get It! link in most databases to:

● access full text online
● check print holdings of the journal
● request an article PDF via Document Delivery/ILLiad

If you already have a citation, use the Citation Linker to search for your article.

Use Google Scholar to retrieve scholarly articles. Off-campus users should set their Scholar preferences to show they’re affiliated with Texas Tech.

Five tips for planning your search strategy:

Brainstorm significant terms, concepts, synonyms, jargon, and related words that could serve as search keywords to describe your topic.
Use important topic terms for your search. Examples of words that ineffectively limit your search: effect, cause, pros and cons, increase, decrease.
Limit results with advanced options or filters including peer-reviewed, full text online, recently published articles, or articles from a particular journal.
Certain symbols in your search terms will expand or limit your search results.
a. Place an asterisk after the root of a search term, for example: teen* finds the words teen, teens, teenage, teenager, etc.
b. Use quotation marks around words to search for an exact phrase, for example: “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.”
Databases index by subject terms, allowing users to view predefined words that are accepted by the database. This controlled vocabulary helps you find information even if you don’t know the proper search terms.