Government and Legal Information:Official and Authoritative Sources for Research

“The Texas Administrative Code (TAC) is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. There are 16 titles in the TAC. Each title represents a subject category and related agencies are assigned to the appropriate title.”

Provides keyword searching of Texas Constitution, Codes, and Vernon’s Civil Statutes

Provides information about House Members, committees, schedules, House Research Organization, Guide to Texas Legislative information, etc.

Online access to Texas Legislature from 71st Session (1989) to date. Provides House/Senate information; Search Legislature by word/phrase, bill #; legislative process, etc.

Provides information on Senators, Lt Governor, committees, Senate kids’ page, etc. Senate Journal, research center, etc.

Provides starting points for doing Texas legislative research. Includes links to numerous resources and checklists.

“Your partner in legislative research” Information on current issues, legislation, legislators & leaders, sessions, committees, collections (e.g. House/Senate journals, General/special; Laws of Texas), etc.

“The Legislative Budget Board (LBB) is a permanent joint committee of the Texas Legislature that develops budget and policy recommendations for legislative appropriations, completes fiscal analyses for proposed legislation, and conducts evaluations and reviews to improve the efficiency and performance of state and local operations.”

“The Texas Legislative Council is a nonpartisan legislative agency that provides bill drafting, computing, research, publishing, and document distribution services to the Texas Legislature and the other legislative agencies.” Includes legislative session summaries, policy issues, etc.

Provides varied resources for Texas legislative history research