Guides: Using government information to to enhance and expand your research : Databases, Journals, and Articles

Databases

These are just a handful of the many databases available through the Texas Tech University Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Comprehensive index to federal govt. info. Has individual indexes for 1) National Bibl. of US Govt Publs, 2) Congressional Serial Set Catalog, 3) Congressional Publications, 4) Historic Shelflist, 5) Electronic Titles, 6) Serials, 7) Government eBooks, and 8) FDLP Web Archive.
GPO
Contains bibliographic citations to United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Based on the Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, GPO contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

ProQuest Congressional (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.

Proquest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics produced by business, Federal and State agencies, as well as other intergovernmental organizations.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books held at TTU and libraries around the world.

Journals and Articles

The TTU Libraries hold a number of print journals, which can also be found through the Library Catalog. In addition to print, patrons can access several E-Journals online.

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.

Trial Databases and Feedback

The Library offers some trial databases that might assist you in your search for information. Please view these sources and fill out the evaluation survey link.

Trial Databases This link opens in a new window
Current trial databases offered by the Library.
Trial Database Feedback This link opens in a new window
Please fill out this short survey to provide feedback on our trial resources.

Google Scholar Search

Google Web Search

COVID-19 Information for Researchers

The Government Publishing Office has published the COVID-19 Toolkit: Federal Depository Library Program on their website. https://www.fdlp.gov/promotion/covid-19-fdlp-toolkit .

It provides resources from all over the federal government on COVID-19.