Guides: Art: Databases, Journals, and Articles

Databases

Art Databases
Complete list of Art databases available through TTU.

These are just a handful of the many Art related databases available through the Texas Tech Unviersity Library.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, humanities, and sciences.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. From late 1960s to present with over 13,000 new entries being added each year.

Art Source Project
An archived list of art related resources on the internet. Please note, this is not the EBSCO database.

International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The database includes detailed abstracts for all new content, in-depth abstracts for scholarly articles, and authority files of controlled terms.

Art Search Research Guides
Research guides to artist biographies, open access journals and other scholarly art related resources.
Streaming Video Collections
Here is the full list of Streaming video available via TTU libraries
Index of Medieval Art
The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, it now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.

Dictionaries, Articles, and Other Useful Places to Look for Information

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access and search for the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location, with the 2008 complete redesign of Grove Art Online, as well as the addition of substantial Oxford reference content.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (4001700).

The British School at Rome: Library and Archive Digital Collections
This collection includes Photographs but also other resources: Maps, Prints, Documents, Postcards, Drawings, Paintings and Manuscripts

Historic New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historic New York Times Newspaper collection, 1851 to 2010.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Leading source of articles, abstracts, and other publications in the field of design, from 1973 to present day.

COMICLOPEDIA - ILLUSTRATED ARTIST COMPENDIUM
Online since 1 November 1999, the Comiclopedia is the world's largest overview of comic artists

Grants

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a searchable database of the entire universe of over 92,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities.

Journals, Bibliographies, and Articles

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.

The TTU Libraries hold a number of print journals, which can also be found through the Library Catalog. In addition to print, patrons can access several E-Journals online.

Art E-Journals
Complete list of Fine and Decorative Arts E-Journals held at TTU.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
OpenBibArt: A History of Art Bibliography
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

Rob's Guides

Welcome, I am the personal librarian for The College of Visual and Performing Arts as well as Film Studies. I am also known as the Popular Culture Librarian.

Students, staff, or faculty are welcome to visit in person, by email, or by phone for any library or research questions.

So what do personal librarians do?

help with any questions you have about the library
help you find articles, books, and other resources
help you request materials through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
help you create citations and use citation style guides
help distance students navigate library resources

These are the subject guides I manage:

Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 145 views this year
Film Studies
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 126 views this year
Music
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 889 views this year
Sequential Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 58 views this year
Theatre and Dance
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 71 views this year

Art

Librarian for Talkington College of Visual and Performing Arts/Film Studies/Popular Culture

Meet Your Librarian (Video)

Five Questions with Rob Weiner

Databases

Dictionaries, Articles, and Other Useful Places to Look for Information

Grants

Journals, Bibliographies, and Articles

Rob's Guides