Guides: Curriculum & Instruction Concentration Specific: Bilingual Education and English as a Second Language (ESL)

Bilingual Education and English as a Second Language (ESL) Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Over 60 thousand records on education administrations and related research areas.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the most authoritative resource for the study of education, covering over 1,700 journals, books, and over 4 million articles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal coverage from 1887 to the present, including more than 1,700 periodicals in 35 languages

Lexile Map
Provides sample book titles and sample sentences/paragraphs for lexile ranges.
Lexile to Grade Level Correlations
Reading A-Z: Level correlation chart
Correlates Reading A-Z levels, Fountas & Pinnell guided reading levels, Reading Recovery, Lexile, DRA – Developmental Reading Assessment Level, Rigby PM, grade and age.
Scholastic Reading Levels
based on Fontas & Pinnell
TOEFL iBT Reading Score / Lexile Comparison
for English Language Learners, young adult and beyond
Text Complexity Collection
Correlate various readability scores to CCSS (Common Core State Standards);
from lead writers of the Common Core State Standards

Flesch-Kincaide Readability
Copy/paste a text selection to find readability.
Lexile Analyzer
Create a free account. Enter scanned or typed text sample to be analyzed.
Readability Test Tool
Test the readability of a webpage by URL, or test by input of text. Results show the following:
Flesch Kincaid Reading Ease
Flesch Kincaid Grade Level
Gunning Fog Score
SMOG Index
Coleman Liau Index
Automated Readability Index
Percent of complex words
Average words per sentence
Average syllables per word