Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Literature Core Collection at Texas Tech University Libraries

This guide provides information on how to access the Children's and Young Adult Literature Collection at Texas Tech University Libraries.

Websites for Children's and Young Adult Literature

 

Selected list of websites focusing on children's and young adult literature compiled by teachers and librarians.

Book Links
A quarterly supplement to BooklistBook Links magazine is designed for teachers, youth librarians, school library media specialists, reading specialists, curriculum coordinators, and others interested in connecting children with high-quality literature-based resources. Book Links articles provide comprehensive information on using books in the classroom, including thematic bibliographies with related discussion questions and activities, author and illustrator interviews and essays, and articles by educators on practical ways to turn children onto reading.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
"Collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics".

Children's Literature Web Guide
This site is a compilation of the "growing number of Internet resources related to Children and Young Adults." It includes discussion boards, links to authors, recommended books, resources for parents, teachers, etc. and more. A link to the Children's Books Awards is listed under "Quick Reference". About this link: "The most comprehensive guide to English-language children's book prizes on the Internet." (Site introduction)

Children's Picture Book Database
Miami University offers this search base of over 5,000 picture books:  "a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects." 

Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
"The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards."

Discovering Children's Books (British Library) 
Collection devoted to historic children’s literature from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. Highlights include original manuscripts, artworks, poems, interviews, drafts and notebooks by renowned authors and illustrators. It brings together literature from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories—The National Centre for Children’s Books, the Bodleian Libraries, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. 

Literary Link: Young Adult Literature
This site is a index of many and varied online resources on young adult literature, from recommended books to themed reviews, to reading guides to discussion group topics, and so much more

On Lion for Kids
From the New York Public Library, this is a useful source for parents, teachers and students because it contains booklists, activities, children's literature articles, recommended reading, links to more sites, and much more. Click links across top of web page.

Reading Tub
Nonprofit organization that promotes reading. Includes a book review section.