Welcome to the United States History Research Guide
This guide provides links to important, substantial, and freely available collections of primary sources dealing with American history. The researcher will find the following information about United States History held within this particular guide:
Colonial - from the first settlements of what would become the United States to the Revolution
RevolutiontoAntebellum - from the Revolution through the 1850s, includes coverage of slavery & abolition.
Civil War - primary source collections dealing with the war
Reconstruction to WWI - the post-Civil War era to World War I
WWI to WWII - from World War I through the Great Depression
World War II - primary source collections dealing with World War II, with a focus on the American experience
Post World War II - from the postwar years through the early 21st century, includes coverage of civil rights & the Vietnam War
HathiTrust Digital LibraryA partnership of approximately 140 research institutions with Google, the HathiTrust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searche
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyThis link opens in a new windowOver 60,000 biographies, 72 million words, 11,000 portraits of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowTraces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
19th Century US NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers (1800-1900), many published in what were, at the time, only territories.
Early American Newspapers Series 10This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 440 titles from all 50 present states. Included are more than 60 18th-century newspapers, and many more of the earliest 19th-century newspapers.
Latin American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowDigital full-text of over 280 newspapers published 1805–1922; titles from more than 20 Latin American countries.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowSelected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowHistoric newspaper articles from 10 of the largest newspaper titles in the United States.
Chronicling America: America's Historic NewspapersNewspaper images from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. A Library of Congress project. Site includes a link to the U.S. Newspapers Directory.
Hosted by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.
From the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hil.
A collection of sources on the history, literature, and culture of the American south from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
"Our objective is to help visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Our primary functions include Demographic Data Analysis, Interactive Map/Report Design, and Software Development. Our main goal is to visually display the demographic change in the U.S. from 1790 through the present, for the country overall down to the level of the county. For more recent years, one can display areas as small as your own neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. To do this, we have developed a collection of interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried, and manipulated on our site."
Information and data sets range from the most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades, starting with 1790. Also, consult the library's U.S. Census Research Guide, linked on the Related Library Guides column to the left.