Digital Persian Archive - Database of Persian historical documents from Iran and Central Asia until the 20th century.
A unique online education community of Muslims and non-Muslims is seeking to advance human civilization by studying Muslim heritage. The website contains more than 1000 peer-reviewed articles, hundreds of short reports on news and events related to Muslim heritage research, and an interactive map and timeline.
This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy.
Arabic and English commentaries on the Qur’an from a wide variety of viewpoints. It is the first website to cover all seven schools if Islamic law.
an annotated linguistic resource that shows the Arabic grammar, syntax, and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank, and semantic ontology.
A wealth of bibliographies on various topics based on the extensive holdings of the HU libraries and museums.
An online community for architects and scholars with a particular focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
The National Library of France has a more extensive database for its manuscripts, called Mandragore, including several manuscripts digitized and online in their entirety. In addition, one can search for individual authors or titles, or one can navigate through the "Classement thématique" link.
The Cleveland Museum of Art makes highlights of its collections available through its collection online website. The museum's Islamic art collection includes ceramics, metalwork, glass, and works on parchment and paper. The most substantial holdings are in miniature paintings. The museum's collection of Islamic textiles, comprising some 450 items, is considered one of the finest in the world.
The Europeana Cultural Collections database provides digital access to over 23 million objects from more than 2200 participating institutions in 34 countries. The database includes more than 10,000 Islamic art objects and hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, some of them digitized in full.
The Freer and Sackler Galleries (Washington, D.C.) is the Smithsonian Institution's Museum of Asian art, with particular strengths in ceramics and illustrated manuscripts from the Islamic world. The museum's digital collection includes images and descriptions of more than 2,000 items from the earliest century of Islam to the present. The Freer and Sackler Galleries also provide digital access to the scholarly papers of Ernst Herzfeld (1879–1948), including his notebooks and journals and more than 5,000 photographs, sketches, and maps.
The Harvard Art Museums' Islamic and Indian art collection is not far. They also support the Islamic Heritage Project, which provides online access to digital copies of over 280 manuscripts, 275 printed texts, and 50 maps, totaling over 156,000 pages.
The Islamic Art Virtual Museum (part of the Museum with No Frontiers project) has a searchable database with complete descriptive entries and digital images of more than 1500 Islamic art objects from museums in 17 countries in Europe and the Middle East.
The Musée du Louvre houses one of the world's most significant works of art from prehistoric times to the 19th century. The Louvre's Department of Islamic Art reopened in Sept. 2012, with some 2,000 of the museum's 18,000 Islamic art objects displayed in the new Islamic galleries. In addition, the Louvre's website provides access to several databases of digitized images of the collection, some with French and English search interfaces.
The Museum of Fine Arts Boston has a rich collection of Islamic art, ranging from ceramics and textiles to miniature paintings, but there is limited gallery space to display it. Objects in the museum's collections can be viewed by appointment; contact the curatorial department for Asian art to arrange one. In addition, the MFA Boston's collections search database provides access to images and descriptions of hundreds of objects in the collection.
The State Hermitage Museum in St Petersburg, home to one of the world's significant collections of Islamic art, also has a digital collection that provides online access to selected images from its over three million works of art and artifacts - paintings, graphic works, sculptures, and works of applied art, archaeological finds and numismatic material.
The Walters Art Museum (Baltimore, Md.) has an excellent collection of manuscripts from the Islamic world. The museum's virtual Islamic Manuscripts Gallery provides digital scans of 58 complete Islamic manuscripts, viewable cover-to-cover, and downloadable. For more digitized manuscripts, see The Digital Walters and the online exhibition Poetry and Prayer: Islamic Manuscripts from the Walters.
The World Digital Library, a project supported by UNESCO, is a searchable database of digitized manuscripts, albums, photographs, and other items contributed by libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions worldwide and is full of surprising discoveries. Participating institutions range from the National Library of Brazil to the National Library and Archives of the Islamic Republic of Iran and from the Berlin State Library to Yale University.
Islamic Art Resources:
Emphasis on Islamic Architecture includes the digitization of the K. A. C. Creswell archive of photographs.
The Arab Image Foundation is a non-profit organization established in Beirut in 1997 to preserve and study photographs from the Middle East, North Africa, and the Arab diaspora.
The Fine Arts Library's visual collections contain more than 150,000 photographs and slides documenting Islamic art and architecture and ethnographic views that provide cultural context.
"This website offers a FREE download of over 4000 images of patterns and other design features drawn from the rich cultural heritage of the Islamic world."
"the first and only women related library and archive in Turkey" (Turkish and English)
A US-based organization
The resources and publications tab has extensive links to scholarship and policy briefs.
a global program, social network, and grassroots social justice movement led by Muslim women. WISE empowers Muslim women to participate in their communities and nations fully and amplify their collective voices.
Steal this Hijab.com is an evolving idea experiment and affirmation of emancipatory models of communication and organizing. Steal this Hijab.com, inspired by the forms of (eminent) criticism from Abbie Hoffman to Audre Lorde and Shirin Neshat, affirms HerbetMarcuse'ss wisdom that"the great refusal takes many forms" ”[5]
offers a discussion list, a mentoring program for lawyers and news, and a list of publications by members.
Pew Global Attitudes Project: Common Concerns About Islamic Extremism: Muslim-Western Tensions Persist (released 7/21/2011)
Muslim and Western publics continue to see relations between them as generally bad, with both sides holding negative stereotypes of the other. Many in the West see Muslims as fanatical and violent, while few say Muslims are tolerant or respectful of women. Meanwhile, Muslims in the Middle East and Asia generally see Westerners as selfish, immoral and greedy – as well as violent and fanatical.
in affiliation with the Search for Common Ground (SFCG)
Interfaith Information:
On October 13th 2006, one month to the day after Pope Benedict XVI’s Regensburg address of September 13th 2006, 38 Islamic authorities and scholars from around the world, representing all denominations and schools of thought, joined together to deliver an answer to the Pope in the spirit of open intellectual exchange and mutual understanding. In their Open Letter to the Pope , for the first time in recent history, Muslim scholars from every branch of Islam spoke with one voice about the true teachings of Islam.
Interfaith Tracking is designed to be a one-stop site for anyone looking to get in touch with an interfaith or intercultural organization, or find out the details of an interfaith or intercultural event.
Data about Islam/Muslims:
Allows queries for specific issues for various religious traditions, including the Muslim faith.
Datasets on the religious knowledge of Americans, a survey of Muslim Americans, American religious affiliation, and Islam in Sub-Saharan Africa.
A comprehensive collection of public opinion from more than 80 countries around the world. A useful source for finding opinion poll information about religious groups and issues.
Its mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world.
Public opinion on international issues.
A resource created and maintained by the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project. Site dedicated to helping people research and understand Islam. Resources available include books, articles, videos and so much more.
One of the biggest collections of Islamic online books. Available in numerous international languages to suit Muslim readers worldwide.