Need assistance with research assignments or finding resources? Our librarians and information professionals have tailored library guides on a broad range of topics and courses. Browse our library guides here.
All students have access to a Personal Librarian. Personal librarians can help students with answering questions about the library, finding articles, help with citations, and much more! Find your Personal Librarian!
You can find tutorials and other information in our Tutorials page. We cover a variety of topics. Here are a few to get you started with the TTU Libraries.
Librarians and library professionals may use specialized terms when referring to services, resources, locations, etc. at TTU Libraries. To get familiar with these terms, view the glossary in the various tabs. For more terms visit ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (linked text will take you to ODLIS site).
A brief, objective representation of the essential content of a book, article, speech, report, dissertation, patent, standard, or other work, presenting the main points in the same order as the original but having no independent literary value.
A bibliographic service that provides online access to the digital full-text of periodicals published by different publishers. Because aggregator databases can be very large, tracking their coverage is not an easy task for serials librarians.
A bibliography in which a brief explanatory or evaluative note is added to each reference or citation. An annotation can be helpful to the researcher in evaluating whether the source is relevant to a given topic or line of inquiry.
A specialized library associated with a graduate school of architecture or a large architectural firm, containing books and periodicals on architecture and architectural engineering, building codes and standards, architectural drawings and renderings, abstracting and indexing services, databases, and other reference materials for research in architecture and related fields. Connect to the TTU Architecture Library.
The building, facility, or area that houses an archival collection (the term repository is preferred by most archivists). Also, to place documents in storage, usually to preserve them as a historical, informational, legal, or evidential record, permanently or for a finite or indefinite period of time. Connect to TTU archives at the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library.
Ask A Librarian
A reference service at TTU Libraries for students, faculty, staff, and community partners to ask questions to librarians and library professionals. Try out Ask a Librarian!
An expression used to define searches in research databases; using the words "AND" "OR" or "NOT"
Search statement: violence OR conflict or aggression
The AND command is used to narrow search results. Each time another concept is added using "and," the search becomes more specific. In some online catalogs and databases, the "and" command is implicit (no need to type it between terms). In other interfaces, keywords will be searched as a phrase if not separated by "and."
Search statement: violence AND television AND children
The NOT command is used to exclude unwanted records from search results.
Search statement: television NOT news
A combination of numbers and letters that provide a unique description of each item in a library collection. Items are arranged on the book shelves by call number. TTU Library uses LC or Library of Congress. For Example, HV9950 .A437 2012. Search this call number in OneSearch's "Browse by call numbers" to discover which book it is!
A database listing and describing the books, journal articles, magazines, newspapers, audiovisual and other materials held by the TTU Library. You can search for items in the catalog by Author, Title, Keyword or Subject. TTU Libraries' catalog is called OneSearch.
The service point at which books and other materials are checked in and out of a library. The circulation desks are located near the entrance or exit (East and West side of building). For more information on TTU checkout policies click here.
In the literary sense, any written or spoken reference to an authority or precedent or to the verbatim words of another speaker or writer. In library usage, a written reference to a specific work or portion of a work (book, article, dissertation, report, musical composition, etc.) produced by a particular author, editor, composer, etc., clearly identifying the document in which the work is to be found. Citation format varies from one field of study to another but includes at a minimum author, title, and publication date.
Application software designed to enable researchers to collect bibliographic references quickly and easily, cite them properly, organize them effectively, and share them with others. Examples include EasyBib, EndNote, Mendeley, and RefWorks. A free open source example is Zotero.
Find info on citation manager’s here: https://guides.library.ttu.edu/citationmanagers
Course Reserves is a service available to Texas Tech faculty and students. Faculty can reserve materials for their classes and their students have the ability to access the materials that have been reserved all in one convenient place.
data management services (or research data management services)
Service provided by TTU Libraries to aid researchers in preserving their research data. For more info visit the webpage.
A collection of information such as journal articles, books, magazines, and newspapers that can be searched to retrieve information. Check out TTU Libraries' Databases A-Z!
document delivery service (DDS)
electronic book (or, e-book)
an entire text of a single work with an electronic copy that can be viewed on a computer or electronic device.
A type, class, or style of literature, music, film, or art. Genre criticism originated with Aristotle, who divided literature into three basic categories: dramatic, epic, and lyric. Today, literary works are classified by form (novel, short story, poetry, drama, etc.), by theme (adventure, fantasy, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction, western, etc.), and less often by subject (carpe diem poem).
A free service launched by Google in November 2004 that allows users to search the Internet for scholarly literature across many disciplines using the company's proprietary search software. According to Google, search results are ranked by relevance using an algorithm that examines the full-text of the work, its author(s), the publication in which the article appeared, and how many times the work has been cited in other scholarly literature. Google Scholar provides access to abstracts, peer-reviewed papers, periodical articles, theses, and books from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, university intranets, and other scholarly organizations. Find instructions here: https://guides.library.ttu.edu/googlescholar/
Also, a string of characters intended to uniquely identify a bibliographic resource. There are many identifier systems in use for different types of library materials, including the International Standard Book Number (ISBN) for books, the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) for serial titles, the Serial Item and Contribution Identifier (SICI) for serial issues and articles, and the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for journal articles and other digital content.
learning management system (LMS)
Machine-Readable Cataloging (MARC)
An OpenURL is similar to a web address, but instead of referring to a physical website, it refers to an article, book, patent, or other resource within a website. OpenURLs are similar to permalinks because they are permanently connected to a resource, regardless of which website the resource is connected to. Libraries and other resource centers are the most common place to find OpenURLs because an OpenURL can help Internet users find a copy of a resource that they may otherwise have limited access to.
a magazine or other journal that is issued at regularly recurring intervals. adjective. published at regularly recurring intervals.
Perpetual access is the right to ongoing access to electronic sources.
Persistent URL (PURL)
PURLs are Web addresses or Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that act as permanent identifiers in the face of a dynamic and changing Web infrastructure.
A podcast is a series of episodes that are audio files. These are stored with a podcast hosting company.
Primary sources are the evidence of history, original records or objects created by participants or observers at the time historical events occurred or even well after events, as in memoirs and oral histories.