Guides: Psychological Sciences: Databases, Journals, and Articles

Getting Some Background

Annual Review of Psychology
The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
This work provides comprehensive, accurate, accessible, and up to date information on all the subfields of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and neuroscience.

Handbook of Psychology
Leading national and international scholars have collaborated under the guidance of recognized expert editors to produce this handbook, which includes chapters covering virtually every core, as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.

Related Research Guides

Education
This guide provides information about Document Delivery, search and checkout and using APA style to cite research.

Human Development & Family Studies
Helpful information about useful databases and how to find books, theses, dissertations, and use Google Scholar to find research.

Social Work
This guide to finding resources in the field of social work includes recommended databases, how to find social work journals, books, theses and dissertations

Sociology
The guide includes suggestions for the best databases along with information about how to search for sociology books, theses and dissertations.

Best Bets for Finding Psychology Articles

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to educational and developmental psychology, as well as education literature and resources. This resource, funded by the U.S. Department of Education and produced by the Educational Resources Information Center, is the largest database of materials for education in the world. It contains more than one million records going back to 1966. More than 100,000 non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), are available in full-text at no cost.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 134,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database covers the years 1965 to the present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included. Indexing is provided from 1806 to the present. PsycINFO is by far the most comprehensive and scholarly database that the library has for finding psychology research
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Professionally indexed, this database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to medical and health research, including psychiatry, psychology, neuroscience, and related areas. PubMed is an expanded version of MEDLINE, with not only the core medical database but also articles from OldMEDLINE (pre-1966), PreMEDLINE (most recent two weeks, and updated nightly), and publisher-contributed individual articles. All told, PubMed contains more than 17 million citations covering the years 1949 to the present.

Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Best Bets for Finding Psychology Journals

Many academic journals that were previously available in print can now be found online by clicking the E-Journals A-Z link below. The TTU Libraries also hold a number of print journals, which can be found by clicking the Library Catalog link below.

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.