Guides: Public Relations: Databases

About Database A-Z Search

Finding Library Databases: Your "Databases A-Z" Guide

Use Databases A-Z to find specialized online resources the library subscribes to. These databases offer high-quality content like academic journal articles, ebooks, news, and statistics—content you won't typically find through a regular Google search.

How "Databases A-Z" Works:

Think of it as a comprehensive directory for all the library's research databases. You can:

Search by Keyword: Type in a database name (like "JSTOR" or "PsycINFO") or relevant keywords.
Browse Alphabetically: Click on a letter to see all databases starting with it.
Browse by Subject: Filter databases by your course subject (e.g., "History" or "Nursing") to find the most relevant collections.

This tool helps you quickly pinpoint the exact resources you need for your assignments and research.

Below are selected databases for this area, as well as other databases that may be relevant. You can search for other databases using the Databases A-Z search.

Communication Databases

While some databases focus narrowly on communication studies, the interdisciplinary nature of media and communication studies requires a broader approach. I've personally vetted the databases listed below using a range of related search terms, ensuring they capture the various facets of this field.

Business and Professional Communications Quarterly
Publishes scholarship that advances knowledge about business and professional communication pedagogy and practices in both academic and workplace settings.
Communication Source
Formerly known as Communication and Mass Media Complete. Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous journals in the communication and mass media fields.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.
IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication
The study, development, improvement, and promotion of techniques for preparing, organizing for use, processing, editing, collecting, conserving, and disseminating any form of information in the electrical and electronics fields.
Journal of Business & Technical Communication
Covers written, oral and electronic communication in all areas of business, science and government.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.
Technical Communication
Includes both quantitative and qualitative research while showcasing the work of some of the field's most noteworthy writers.
Technical Communication Quarterly
Publication of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Business, management, financial coverage of over 3,040 publications.
Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Reference Center
Offers cover-to-cover indexing for journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all with a strong focus on BC/DR and closely aligned issues. It features hundreds of thousands of additional BC/DR-focused articles, benchmarks and best practices selected from hundreds of leading trade and industry publications.
Gale Business: Insights
Formerly Business & Company Resource Center, includes detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports.
Business Market Research Collection
Formerly Hoover's Company Profiles, conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from over 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more.
Business Source Complete
The definitive scholarly business database, with coverage from 1886 to the present. Includes company information, company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports.
Communication Source
Formerly known as Communication and Mass Media Complete. Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous journals in the communication and mass media fields.
D&B Million Dollar Database
D&B's North American Million Dollar Database provides the information professional, marketer and sales executive with information on approximately 1.6 million U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses.
EconLit with Full Text
Indexes over 30 years of economics literature from around the world.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Extracts key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Newspaper Source Plus
Selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexisincluding U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.
Public Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering public administration research, theory, and related topics.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Formerly Physical Education Index. Scholarly abstracts feature a wide variety of content; physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, health education and physical therapy are covered.
Statista: The Statistics Portal
Statista aggregates the most important statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, special publications as well as government platforms. With over 1-million statistics from 600+ areas: market data, consumer data, revenue figures and trends.

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
ArticleFirst
Articles from over 16 thousand journals from 1990 to present covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Book Citation Index Social Sciences and Humanities
Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year 2005 to present.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Thousands of encyclopedia articles on general topics.
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference
Offers a growing list of over 1,100 titles to help users answer their immediate research need and engage their curiosity. Also included are nearly 2,000 short reference videos, more than 550,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps across all subject areas.
CRL Catalog
Collection focused on primary source materials for humanities, sciences, and social sciences researchers.
Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography, with detailed entries including editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
SAGE Reference
Collection of over 60 scholarly encyclopedias in the social sciences.
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text science database covering over 2,500 journals and nearly 20 thousand books.
SpringerLink Journals
Millions of scientific documents from scholarly and academic journals.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-20th century. Formerly American Indian Histories and Cultures.
ATLA Religion Database
Over 3 million bibliographic records covering Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and related topics.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliographic database covering native North American culture, history, and life from the 16th century to the present.
Black Studies Center
Combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Gender Studies Database
Combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, working papers, dissertations and more.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life from hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life from hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics.
Korean Journal Database (KCI)
Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among todays students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them.
Race Relations Abstracts (EBSCO)
Abstracts Only. Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Covering more than 300 full-text religion and philosophy journals.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers urban affairs, community development, history, and other areas related to urban studies.

EBSCOhost Espanol
EbscoHost with a Spanish language interface.
Fuente Academica Premier
A unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
Latin American Newspapers
Digital full-text of over 280 newspapers published 18051922; titles from more than 20 Latin American countries.
Medic Latina
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Referencia Latina
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.