Guides: Film Studies : Databases, Journals, and Articles

Databases

These are just a handful of the many Film related databases available through the Texas Tech Unviersity Library. For a more complete list of Film related databases, visit:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books held at TTU and libraries around the world.

Swank Digital Campus Videos
A collection of important films and documentaries!

Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Good for film reviews and finding general information. Indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for over 100 of the indexed journals. Currently includes a half million records, many with ten years archive from each journal.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies, Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
The AFI Catalog is the premier, authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893-1971. Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 400,000 article citations from more than 330 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.Many of these key titles are available here in full text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collections This link opens in a new window
Over 40 thousand video titles covering a wide variety of scholarly, curriculum-focused, and professional topics.

This package includes access to: Business and Economics Collection; Science and Mathematics Collection; Humanities and Social Sciences Collection; Health and Medicine Collection; Archival Films and Newsreels

Streaming Video Collections at TTU Libraries
Here is the full list of Streaming video available via TTU libraries
Film Databases
List of Film and Entertainment Databases
Oxford Bibliographies Online Cinema and Media Studies
Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This section is specific to cinema and media studies.
Bloomsbury Drama Online
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.

Journals and Articles

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Search for specific journals by title.

The TTU Libraries hold a number of print journals, which can also be found through the Library Catalog. In addition to print, patrons can access several E-Journals online.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.

Film E-Journals
List of Film related e-journals
Screening the Past
A international peer reviewed electronic journal of screen history.
Images Journal of Film and Popular Culture
From their web page: Images publishes articles about movies, television, videos and other popular visual arts.
Bright Lights Film Journal
According to their official page: "Bright Lights is one of the most widely read, quoted and respected movie sites on the web, mixing savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema - with wit and a political edge."
Film-Philosophy
Film-Philosophy is an open access peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy.
Senses of Cinema

Newspapers & Magazines

Historic New York Times This link opens in a new window
Historic New York Times Newspaper collection, 1851 to 2010.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, etc. magazines.

Rob's Guides

Welcome, I am the personal librarian for The College of Visual and Performing Arts as well as Film Studies. I am also known as the Popular Culture Librarian.

Students, staff, or faculty are welcome to visit in person, by email, or by phone for any library or research questions.

So what do personal librarians do?

help with any questions you have about the library
help you find articles, books, and other resources
help you request materials through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
help you create citations and use citation style guides
help distance students navigate library resources

These are the subject guides I manage:

Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 107 views this year
Film Studies
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 96 views this year
Music
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 792 views this year
Sequential Art
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 44 views this year
Theatre and Dance
by Rob Weiner Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 53 views this year

Film Studies

Librarian for Talkington College of Visual and Performing Arts/Film Studies/Popular Culture

Meet Your Librarian (Video)

Five Questions with Rob Weiner

Databases

Journals and Articles

Newspapers & Magazines

Rob's Guides