Guides: Environmental Toxicology (TIEHH): Research Resources

Citing and Reference Tracking

Endnote Basic This link opens in a new window
A web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper.

EndNote Web

A web-based reference organizer is fully integrated with ISI Web of Knowledge. Track and format your reference lists in a variety of publishing styles.

Log in using ttu.edu email address and password you chose.
Download references directly from Web of Science and import citations from other databases.
Cite While You Write can be used in Microsoft Word to automatically integrate citations into a paper (requires a plug-in).

For help, see the EndNote Web video tutorials or contact me.

Writing Center

University Writing Center
The University Writing Center offers undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff 30-minute, one-on-one tutorials on any type of writing, including resumes, personal statements, research papers, and articles for publication.

University Writing Center

The Writing Center assists during the various stages of your writing projects without regard to your status (undergraduate, graduate or faculty) and your level of proficiency or particular college.

Research Resources

TOXNET
TOXNET has moved. As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
ECOTOX Database
The ECOTOXicology database was created and is maintained by the U.S.EPA. ECOTOX integrates three previously independent databases - AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX and TERRETOX - into a unique system which includes toxicity data derived predominately from the peer-reviewed literature for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and terrestrial wildlife, respectively.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ATSDR is directed by congressional mandate to perform specific functions concerning the effect on public health of hazardous substances in the environment.
CHEMBANK
A public, web-based informatics environment created by the Broad Institute's Chemical Biology Program and funded in large part by the National Cancer Institute's Initiative for Chemical Genetics (ICG). Includes freely available data derived from small molecules and small-molecule screens, and resources for studying the data.
National Toxicology Program
NTP is an interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
ScienceWatch.com
Provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators (a TTU Library database from Thomson Reuters).
Science.gov
Searches databases and selected websites, offering authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
World Wide Science
Global science gateway which enables federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Futurity
An online news source featuring the latest discoveries from North America's leading research universities.
Matlab
An interactive MATLAB or Simulink tutorial course designed for students. Each tutorial is organized into short, interactive video modules that get you started using MATLAB and Simulink. Requires registration.

Plagiarism

Academic Integrity at TTU
Texas Tech policy on Academic Integrity.

Plagiarism is a costly offence. I has the potential of giving you a failing grade, failiing a course, or cause disciplinary action or even expulsion! Here is more information about it and ways to learn how to avoid it.

Plagiarism Games
Play three games including Cheats and Geeks, Frenetic Filing and Murky Misconduct. (Hosted by University of Florida Libraries)
You Quote It, You Note It!
Interactive tutorial on how to avoid plagiarism from Acadia University (has sound).