Guides: Graduate Student Services: Databases & Journal Articles

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to retrieve scholarly articles. Off-campus users should set their Scholar preferences to show they’re affiliated with Texas Tech.

Browzine

Find Article Full Text

Follow the button or Find It! link in most databases to:

● access full text online
● check print holdings of the journal
● request an article PDF via Document Delivery/ILLiad

Suggested Resources—General

The databases and tools listed here focus on all subjects rather than specific disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Dissertation Calculator
The Dissertation Calculator is a tool that allows you to break down the process of researching and writing a thesis or dissertation into manageable steps, based on the estimated date of completion that you provide.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archival issues of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other valuable materials.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and utilizes existing periodical holdings.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of theses and dissertations.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
One of the premiere resources for study, teaching, and advanced research, providing access to over 1,200 journals.

Suggested Resources—Humanities

The databases listed here focus on subjects in the humanities: art, architecture, history, and more.

Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 600 art publications covering peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of works of art from selected periodicals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, and decoration.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including political, social, economic, military and women's history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archival issues of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other valuable materials.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 300 full-text religion and philosophy journals.
America History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers 1,700 journals on the literature and history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present day.

Suggested Resources—Social Sciences

The databases listed here focus on subjects in the social sciences: business, communication, education, family studies, psychology, sociology, and more.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Core Anthropology periodicals from late 19th century to present day.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive scholarly business database, with coverage from 1886 to the present. Includes company information, company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Communication and Mass Media Complete. Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous journals in the communication and mass media fields.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archival issues of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other valuable materials.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
Covering over 400 leading political science and international relations journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal coverage from 1887 to the present, including more than 1,700 periodicals in 35 languages
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Suggested Resources—Sciences

The databases listed here cover subjects in the sciences: chemistry, natural history - biology, botany, and others.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Over 700 publications covering engineering, chemistry, computers, and other related topics.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 800 journals covering the scientific and technological communities of research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text database offers journal articles and book chapters from peer-reviewed sources in the sciences including life and health sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science abstracts database.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's leading literature in sciences, social sciences, and the humanities, from 1981 to the present.

Graduate Student Services