Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Libraries Assessment

Introduction

The resources of the Texas Tech University Libraries are frequently changing due to the addition of physical materials as well as changes in the availability of electronic resources. Physical materials available include books, journals, CDs, DVDs, videos, slides, photographs, or drawings. Electronic resources include ebooks, journals, databases, and streaming videos. The information presented for each College represents the Libraries' available resources of what students and researchers in the field may possibly use. The numbers presented were gathered in August 2020.

In addition to the resources listed below the University Libraries provide access to databases of open textbooks, such as Open Textbook Library with 700+ titles, for faculty to consider when adopting textbooks for classes  https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/  as well as digital collections and ThinkTech (an online publishing and archival services for the Texas Tech community) https://ttu-ir.tdl.org/handle/2346/468.

For more detailed information on resources and assistance in research for each area, check out the subject Guides https://guides.library.ttu.edu/

 

College of Agricultural Science & Natural Resources

CASNR students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 84 Databases
  • 6 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During  2018-2019 fiscal year there were 1753 ILL requests for materials from other libraries and 1741 requests for Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections available:

College of Architecture

The College of Architecture has a library with many resources but there are also resources also available in the Main Library and the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library. Students and researcher have the following resources available:

  • 27 Databases
  • 2 Guides
  • 3 Librarians

During the 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 427 requests for ILL materials from other libraries and 304 requests for Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections:

College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences (A&S) has many departments and so has numerous resources available:

  • Databases
    • 160 A&S Humanities databases
    • 119 A&S Sciences databases
    • 161 A&S Social Sciences databases
  • 44 Guides
  • 7 Librarians

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 18,570 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 8563 materials requested from Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections:

Jerry Rawls College of Business

Business students and researchers have access to:

  • 56 Databases
  • 6 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 930 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 472 materials requested from Document Delivery.

College of Education

Education students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 80 Databases
  • 34 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 2851 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 2632 materials requested from Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections

Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering

Engineering students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 82 Databases
  • 14 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 4979 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 1942 materials requested from Document Delivery.

College of Human Sciences

Human Science students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 104 Databases
  • 27 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 2183 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 1302 materials requested from Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections

College of Media & Communications

Media & Communications students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 18 Databases
  • 9 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 762 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 640 materials requested from Document Delivery.

School of Veterinary Medicine

Veterinary Science students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 51 Databases
  • Guides (in progress)
  • 1 Librarian

J.T. & Margaret Talkington College of Visual & Performing Arts

Visual and Performing Arts students and researchers have the following resources available:

  • 63 Databases
  • 8 Guides
  • 1 Librarian

During 2018-2019 fiscal year there were 2630 ILL materials requested from other libraries and 1893 materials requested from Document Delivery.

Examples of digital and ThinkTech collections