Cost Estimating for Construction Engineering

The 2025 Concrete & Masonry Cost Book With RSMeans Data is your comprehensive resource for pricing on all types of concrete and masonry work with over 7,900 lines of costing data across 20 CSI MasterFormat Divisions, including foundation work, retaining walls, decorative stone installations, sidewalks, driveways and handicap access ramps. Whether you're handling small jobs or tackling larger commercial projects, this dataset has you covered. This essential guide offers quick-check pricing, cost comparisons, scheduling assistance and detailed unit price estimating, combining unit costs and assemblies to streamline your estimating process. Specifically designed for concrete and masonry sub-contractors and general contractors who want to check sub-contractor quotes. While primarily intended for new construction, with reasonable judgement, can be adapted for repairs and renovation work as well. Includes specialized cost data for tasks such as poured concrete foundations, masonry veneer installations, reinforced concrete structures and precast concrete components. Unit costs are organized in CSI MasterFormat 2018. Assemblies are organized in UniFormat II. Supplemental Information Included: Equipment rental costs, crew listings, Historical Cost Indexes, City Cost Indexes, location factors, reference tables, change order best practices, project size modifiers, labore trade rates including overhead and profit and common abbreviations. Level of Cost Detail: Unit Costs, Assemblies Labor Type: Standard Union

How to succeed in the construction business--step-by-step guidelines for estimating To be competitive, contractors and homebuilders need to know how to generate complete, accurate estimates for labor and material costs. This book guides readers through the entire estimating process, explaining in detail how to put together a reliable estimate that can be used not only for budgeting, but also for developing a schedule, managing a project, dealing with contingencies, and ultimately making a profit. Completely revised and updated to reflect the new CSI MasterFormat 2010TM system, the Second Edition of this practical guide describes estimating techniques for each building system and how to apply them according to the latest industry standards. Cost considerations and quantity takeoff and pricing are included for virtually every type of work found in residential and light commercial projects, from demolition, concrete, and masonry to windows and doors, siding, roofing, mechanical and electrical systems, finish work, and site construction. Complete with many new graphics and references to professional construction cost databases, the new edition provides experienced contractors and novices alike with essential information on: How to correctly interpret plans and specifications, reflecting updates to contract documents since the first edition Computer estimating techniques and new estimating software for performing quantity takeoff The best methods for conceptual estimating as well as the extremely useful topic of parametric estimating How to allocate the right amounts for profit and contingencies, and other hard-to-find professional guidance How a unit price estimate is built along with labor issues and budgeting for subcontractor work

The tried-and-true Gypsum Construction Handbook is a systematic guide to selecting and using gypsum drywall, veneer plaster, tile backers, ceilings, and conventional plaster building materials. A widely respected training text for aspiring architects and engineers, the book provides detailed product information and efficient installation methodology. The Seventh Edition features updates in gypsum products, including ultralight panels, glass-mat panels, paperfaced plastic bead, and ultralightweight joint compound, and modern specialty acoustical and ceiling product guidelines. This comprehensive reference also incorporates the latest in sustainable products.

Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction: LEED, BREEAM, and Green Globes, Second Edition directly addresses the needs of building professionals interested in the evolving principles, strategies, and concepts of green/sustainable design. Written in an easy to understand style, the book is updated to reflect new standards to LEED. In addition, readers will find sections that cover the new standards to BREEAM that involve new construction Infrastructure, data centers, warehouses, and existing buildings.- Provides vital information and penetrating insights into three of the top Green Building Codes and Standards applied Internationally- Includes the latest updates for complying with LEED v4 Practices and BREEAM- Presents case studies that draws on over 35 years of personal experience from across the world

This comprehensive reference covers the full spectrum of technical data required to estimate costs for major construction projects. Widely used in the industry for tasks ranging from routine estimates to special cost analysis projects, the book has been completely updated and reorganized with new and expanded technical information. RSMeans Estimating Handbook will help construction professionals: Evaluate architectural plans and specifications Prepare accurate quantity takeoffs Compare design alternatives and costs Perform value engineering Double-check estimates and quotes Estimate change orders FEATURES: This new edition includes expanded coverage of: Construction specialties--green building, metal decking, plastic pipe, demolition items, and more Preliminary or square foot estimating tools  Updated city cost indexes to adjust costs--by trade--for 30 major cities Historic indexes to factor costs for economic effects over time Complete reorganization to the newest CSI MasterFormat classification system

This concise student edition of the most widely used dictionary for construction and design professionals offers clear explanations of essential construction-related terms and concepts. Illustrated throughout with explanatory drawings and photographs, it is an indispensable reference for beginning and advanced students in construction, architecture, design, facility management, real estate, and other related fields. Features include: Easy-to-understand definitions of nearly 10,000 terms, phrases, and abbreviations from every area of construction More than 1,400 drawings and photographs that help clarify concepts Up-to-date coverage of new industry trends, including building automation, energy conservation, green building, historic preservation, and more An extensive reference section with plan symbols, conversions and equivalents, and more