Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGR 2392: Engineering Ethics: Home

Course guide for Engr 2392

Your Assignment

There are 3 parts to your assignment.

  1. Proposal
  2. Annotated Bibliography (for which you need peer-reviewed articles)
  3. System and Ethical Analysis

 

This guide will help you with the research aspects of your assignments.

Engineering Resources

Many of you will begin your research using the main search box on the libraries homepage. The University Libraries subscribes to many different databases that this search box will explore.

https://www.depts.ttu.edu/library/

 

However, you may find it more helpful to go directly to the databases listed below. These are specialized, topical databases that contain information related to the sciences and to engineering topics.

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography

What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.


Annotations vs. Abstracts

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they may describe the author's point of view, authority, or clarity and appropriateness of expression.


The Process

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills: concise exposition, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

Cite the book, article, or document using the appropriate style.

Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author, (b) comment on the intended audience, (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.


Critically Appraising the Book, Article, or Document

For guidance in critically appraising and analyzing the sources for your bibliography, see How to Critically Analyze Information Sources. For information on the author's background and views, ask at the reference desk for help finding appropriate biographical resources by asking me.


Choosing the Correct Citation Style

For this class, you will be using APA. That guide is linked here.

 

 

This part of the guide is copied from the Cornell Guide.

Olin Library Reference
Research & Learning Services
Cornell University Library
Ithaca, NY, USA

Attended a Library Session?

STEM Librarian

Profile Photo
Erin Burns
she/her/hers
Contact:
Library Mezzanine (balcony) Room 114

University Library
Texas Tech University
2802 18th St
Lubbock, TX 79410
806-834-2142