Welcome to the European History Resource Guide. The guide will provide information on locating primary and secondary sources of European history resources.
Image Credit: https://search.creativecommons.org/photos/9107ec60-16e9-4290-9638-6f66f96ab76a
Biographies:
This resource provides "detailed and general information on all members of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe."
Country Demographic Information:
Leads to basic political and economic information and includes links to other relevant EU websites and state websites.
Leads to information about all European nations. Includes political, economic, cultural, and social information with many links to other websites.
Encyclopedias:
A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union From Aachen to Zollverein
1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War
Maps:
Statistics:
Includes data on Population and society, Education, culture and sport, Environment, Government and public sector, Health, Science and Technology,
Economy and finance, Regions and cities, Energy, Agriculture, fisheries, forestry, and food.
EDP "harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries." Data covers social, economic, health, justice, population, agriculture, and other topics.
Data covers social, economic, health, justice, population, agriculture, and other topics.
Data from the EU on a broad range of subjects including social, economic, health, justice, population, agriculture, and other topics.
Data source from the United Nations
Includes data related to education, literacy, science, technology, innovation, culture, communication, and information.
Related Supplementary Information:
An electronic repository and archive for research materials on European integration and unification in the 20th and 21st century. AEIPlus simultaneously searches both the AEI and European Research Papers Archive. Hosted by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
Full-text historical documents relating to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government, with links to supporting documents. The site may be searched by keyword or browsed by category, including by time period. Its focus is primarily American and governmental, but it also contains documents of interest to Europeanists, such as Franco-American and Spanish-American diplomacy, Nazi-Soviet relations, and the Nuremberg Trials.
Find US government hearings and reports, CSCE digest, speeches and statements, articles on CSCE.
Links to primary source documents - transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated - arranged chronologically under each country. Maintained by Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University
Keyword search and full text of EU law, treaties, Bulletin, and documents related to the EU parliament and council
Primary source materials on European history and culture
Offers access to primary source texts for educational purposes broken down into ancient, medieval, modern, and subject history sourcebooks. Edited by Paul Halsall, Fordham University.
This site makes available full digital texts of 253 Renaissance festival books from the British Library's collections. The texts cover the period 1475 to 1700 and record every form of festival, from coronations and stately entries to the marriages and funerals of notable European royals and nobles.
Digital Collections:
Provides access to the texts of peace agreements entered into by European countries.
"The EFG Portal gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, a rare feature, and documentary films, newsreels, and other materials."
This portal provides access to 1,800 bilateral and multilateral peace treaties of the pre-modern era in Europe.
"ESO is a free-access database and information service, which aims to support research and understanding on any matter relating to Europe. It offers curated information and a wide range of sources, enabling information provision to users holding different levels of expertise."
Flickr Commons provides access to digital collections (mostly images) from libraries and museums worldwide, including Europe.
UT Austin's Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection provides access to the Historical Maps of Europe. These are scanned maps.
This digital collection provides access to historical newspapers from twenty countries in Europe.
Provides access to the historical maps of Europe from 1453-2014.
"Through the multilingual MICHAEL service, you can find and explore digital collections from museums, archives, libraries, and other cultural institutions from across Europe."
This portal offers access to scanned books from several European libraries.
This portal provides "access to more than 900,000 digitized objects (archives, books, brochures, leaflets, photographs, posters, prints, cartoons, sound, films, and videos) from 15 specialized archives and libraries in Europe."
Digital Libraries
"Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for."
The Europe section of the World Documents Library provides access to digitized materials from various European countries.
Digital Humanities
"The EADH brings together and represents the Digital Humanities in Europe across the entire spectrum of disciplines that research, develop, and apply digital humanities methods and technology. These include art history, cultural studies, history, image processing, language and literature studies, manuscripts studies, and musicology. The EADH also supports the formation of DH interest groups in Europe that are defined by region, language, methodological focus or other criteria."
Humanities at Scale's goal is to develop "new and sustaining existing knowledge in digitally enabled research in the arts and humanities."
Provides access to information on archival material from different European countries and information on archival institutions throughout Europe.
EROMM is a consortium of libraries and library networks that records microform masters and surrogates of printed/handwritten items.
"Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks, and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for."
"The Historical Archives preserves and makes accessible in a central location the archival holdings of the European Union Institutions. Also, the HAEU collects private papers of key European politicians, high-ranking EU officials, and individuals involved in the process of European integration as well as the archives of pro-European movements and other organizations with a European scope."
"The Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives (OSA) at Central European University (CEU) is a complex archival institution. OSA is both a repository of important collections, primarily related to the history of the Cold War and grave international human rights violations, and a laboratory of archival experiments on new ways of assessing, contextualizing, presenting, and making use of archival documents."
ALBANIA
ARMENIA
AUSTRIA
AZERBAIJAN
BELARUS
BELGIUM
BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA
BULGARIA
CROATIA
CYPRUS
CZECHIA
DENMARK
ESTONIA
FINLAND
FRANCE
GEORGIA
GERMANY
GREECE
HUNGARY
ICELAND
IRELAND
ITALY
KOSOVO
LATVIA
LIECHTENSTEIN
LITHUANIA
LUXEMBOURG
MALTA
MOLDOVA
MONACO
MONTENEGRO
NETHERLANDS
NORWAY
POLAND
ROMANIA
PORTUGAL
RUSSIA
SERBIA
SPAIN
SWEDEN
SWITZERLAND
UNITED KINGDOM
An electronic repository and archive for research materials on European integration and unification in the 20th and 21st century. AEIPlus simultaneously searches both the AEI and European Research Papers Archive. Hosted by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
Full-text historical documents relating to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government, with links to supporting documents. The site may be searched by keyword or browsed by category, including by time period. Its focus is primarily American and governmental. It also contains documents of interest to Europeanists, such as Franco-American and Spanish-American diplomacy, Nazi-Soviet relations, and the Nuremberg Trials.
Find US government hearings and reports, CSCE digest, speeches and statements, articles on CSCE.
Links to primary source documents - transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated - arranged chronologically under each country. Maintained by Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University
Keyword search and full text of EU law, treaties, Bulletin, and documents related to the EU parliament and council
Primary source materials on European history and culture
Offers access to primary source texts for educational purposes broken down into ancient, medieval, modern, and subject history sourcebooks. Edited by Paul Halsall, Fordham University.
This site makes available full digital texts of 253 Renaissance festival books from the British Library's collections. The texts cover the period 1475 to 1700 and record every form of festival, from coronations and stately entries to the marriages and funerals of notable European royals and nobles.