Skip to Main Content

OneSearch

How to use the University Libraries' discovery tool to find books, journal articles, e-books, DVDs, and other research sources.

OneSearch

Search for articles, books, databases and more


OneSearch is a great place to start your research. It's a one-stop search tool that helps you quickly find the title you want or relevant resources on a subject. Use OneSearch to search for books, scholarly journal articles, e-books, DVDs, images from our digital collections, and more.

When you view search results, OneSearch offers options to filter them in a variety of ways—by publication date, format (academic journals, books, news articles, etc.), subject, and others.

Which search should I choose?

OneSearch has four options—each one searches different content and offers different filters.

When you start typing your search words, OneSearch auto-suggests search options you can click.

Screenshot of OneSearch showing options for searching different collections

Everything 

Is the most comprehensive search. Searches all of the resources in the Library Catalog plus many of our digital subscriptions. It will show more items that you can access online immediately.

Library Catalog

Contains books (print and ebooks), journals, magazines, newspapers, DVDs, audiobooks, music scores, images, maps, TTU dissertations and theses, and archival collections. Use the right side drop-down menu to limit the search to only Architecture Collections, Southwest/Special Collections, Government Documents, and Digital Collections/ThinkTech.

Law Library

Books, journals, videos, and other items owned by the Law Library.

Course Reserves

Materials that instructors have selected to use in their classes—such as textbooks, supplemental readings (articles, book chapters), or films. They're either available online or kept "on reserve" at the Library with a shortened checkout time to give everyone in the class a chance to use them.

When should I NOT use OneSearch?

To take advantage of the richest features of a research database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, begin your search at a subject-specific database.

For example, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and Medline have powerful features only available in their unique interfaces.

Advanced researchers with more experience searching may prefer to search directly from the database's interface.

Full text finder

Look up a journal article by DOI or PMID

 

 

We’ve added a feature in OneSearch that makes it easier to get to full text of articles and journals. When viewing results, click the “Download PDF” link to go straight to the PDF.



This full text finder is powered by LibKey. You may also view the full contents of the journal by clicking “View Issue Contents.”