Guides: Petroleum Engineering: Home

Using OneSearch

OneSearch is the search box on the homepage, and it searches most of the databases we own. While it's great for starting out your research, because it searches everything (including books and media and the law library), it can feel like a lot. Be sure to use the filters on the left side menus to help narrow your search and its infinite scroll.

OnePetro

The Univetsity Libraries does not have access to OnePetro. Students in the Petroleum Engineering programs do have access through the College.

Here are the instructions for access:

The OnePetro site link is ready and is accessible from the TTU PE website. This is how users can access it:

Go to the PE department landing page
Click Research link on top of the page
Click Publications and Patents link
Click OnePetro link
Authenticate with TTU eRaider credentials
Click the OnePetro website link on the page to access the OnePetro website.

Or –

Click here:

https://www.depts.ttu.edu/pe/research/publications/onepetro.php

A short list of databases for finding articles and more

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, only searches Compendex.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and index to worldwide scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Includes more than 14 million records, 5,000 journals, and more than 2,500 conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the worldwide technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Knovel Industry Essentials This link opens in a new window
Chemical information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science abstracts database.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's leading literature in sciences, social sciences, and the humanities, from 1981 to the present.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Collection of industry leading standards and technical engineering information. As of March 2022, TTUL has access to ASTM, AASHTO, and AENOR/UNE (EN, UNE ISO, UNE IEC).

Semantic Scholar - AI Powered Research Tool
A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature

Specific to Petro

Petroleum Abstracts TULSA Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of information on the oil and gas exploration and production industry with more than 900,000 entries dating from 1965 to present.

Materials

Copper Technical Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encompasses research on all aspects of copper, related alloys, and compounds.
Corrosion Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The world's most complete source of research in the area of corrosion science and engineering, covering over 3,000 publications.
Materials Business File This link opens in a new window
Industry news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations, and management issues related to industries covered by other CSA Technology Research Database (TRD) subfiles.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX and brings together in one place the majority of materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications.

Document Delivery

Use Texas Tech Library's Document Delivery Service to request free electronic copies of articles, standards, or patents delivered to you by email within 48 hours. Use the link below and follow directions carefully.

Document Delivery This link opens in a new window
Resource/s you need unavailable at TTU Libraries? Request through Document Delivery/ILLiad.

Petroleum Engineering

Librarian for College of Engineering

Intro video