Guides: Technical Communication & Rhetoric: Recommended Databases and Resources

Personal Librarian for English

Hello, I am the personal librarian for the English department. Students, staff, or faculty are welcome to visit in person, by email, or by phone for any library or research questions.

So what do personal librarians do?

help with any questions you have about the library
help you find articles, books, and other resources
help you request materials through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
help you create citations and use citation style guides
help distance students navigate library resources

Recommended Databases

Top databases for students studying English language and literature. Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and other academic resources.

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Communication and Mass Media Complete. Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous journals in the communication and mass media fields.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the worldwide technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
More than 500 journals in business, social sciences, humanities, science, technology, and medicine.

Communications Databases
Complete list of Communications Databases A-Z.
English Databases
Complete list of English Databases A-Z.

Tech Comm Journals

These journals are typically use in Technical Communication & Rhetoric and related fields.

Business and Professional Communications Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Publishes scholarship that advances knowledge about business and professional communication pedagogy and practices in both academic and workplace settings.
IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication This link opens in a new window
The study, development, improvement, and promotion of techniques for preparing, organizing for use, processing, editing, collecting, conserving, and disseminating any form of information in the electrical and electronics fields.
Journal of Business & Technical Communication This link opens in a new window
Covers written, oral and electronic communication in all areas of business, science and government.
Technical Communication This link opens in a new window
Includes both quantitative and qualitative research while showcasing the work of some of the field's most noteworthy writers.
Technical Communication Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Publication of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing.

Google Scholar + TTU

Google Scholar can easily connect to TTU materials. Follow the simple instructions in this video.

Google Scholar + TTU
Link to above video, gives instructions for connecting Google Scholar with TTU Libraries' resources.

Google Scholar
by Shelby Hebert Last Updated Jun 10, 2022 1025 views this year

Technical Communication & Rhetoric

Personal Librarian for English

Recommended Databases

Tech Comm Journals

Other Journals and Articles

Google Scholar + TTU