Theatre and Dance

Contains videos that have ethnographies of indigenous cultures from around the world

Through these unique curated selections from the Leon Levy BAM Digital Archive, we've sought to highlight some of the many powerful voices who make up our rich history and who help us reflect on the challenges and promises of the society in which we live.

Preserves the History of Ballroom Dancing

The collection preserves culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form.

Ballet resources, dance blogs and websites

We have created a profile for each artist, group or organization that has shared their collection for preservation in HIDVL. These profiles, often compiled in collaboration with the artists, aim to contextualize the videos with images, texts, performance ephemera, bibliographies and additional resources that viewers and researchers might find useful. Because the profiles are trilingual, they ensure wider accessibility to audiences across the Americas.

An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today, plus multi-media essays and a related podcast.

The Jerome Robbins Dance Division is the world’s largest dance archive and library with an international and extensive collection that spans seven centuries.

Established in the early 1970’s, La MaMa Archives collects, preserves, and exhibits records of permanent historical value relating to La MaMa and the Off-Off Broadway movement. In doing so, it draws on a deep vein of in-house institutional memory, the passionate community of artists whose work has found a home on La MaMa stages, and a diversity of scholars, educators and international artists with whom we regularly collaborate.

MANCC (pronounced man-see) is the only national center for choreography in the world located in a major research institution, and operates from one of the premiere dance facilities in the United States. The Center is embedded within The Florida State University School of Dance, and offers unparalleled opportunities for contemporary choreographers to hone their artistic practice and develop new work inside a creative community.

This digital library contains some important dance resources.