Since the 1960s, the SWC/SCL has employed numerous interviewers who conducted extensive interviews with Lubbock, West Texas, and the larger area’s Latino/Hispanic communities. The three most prolific interviewers are: David Zepeda, Andrew Tijerina, and Daniel Sánchez. Transcripts and abstracts of their interviews after 2000 can be found at https://hdl.handle.net/2346/234, while older abstracts from the 1950s to the present may be found at http://swco.ttu.edu/ohc/index.php?title=Main_Page
Keyword searching is robust on both sites, but a very small sample of what can be found there are:
For assistance with finding resources at Southwest Collection/Special Collections, or to access collections in the Reading Room, researchers should contact the Reference Department at http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/policies.php
Native American Bibliographies
Comanche Bibliography
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/comanche.htm
Comanche Articles in Historical Journals
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/comanchejournal.htm
Apache Articles in Historical Journals
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Apachejournal.htm
Arapaho Articles in Historical Journals
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Arapahojournal.htm
Cheyenne Articles in Historical Journals
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Cheyennejournal.htm
Kiowa Articles in Historical Journals
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Kiowajournal.htm
Journal Articles on Anthropology & Archaeology
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Anthropologyjournal.htm
Other Bibliographies & Resources
Reference Files
Often called “Vertical Files” at other archives, these contain a small amount of material on a given topic; not enough to necessitate a full archival collection, but enough to interest a researcher. Their topics and titles may be found here: http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/ReferenceList/referenc.php
Hispanic/Latino Bibliographies
Hispanic and Spanish-Language Resources
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/Hispanic.htm
Mexican Americans and Texas
http://swco.ttu.edu/Reference/Collections/Bibliographies/MexicanAmericans.htm
The Sowell Family Collection in Literature, Community and the Natural World
Gretel Ehrlich Papers (+ new collection, available Summer 2019)
Author about, among other things, native peoples in the arctic.
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00268/trb-00268p1.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00268/trb-00268p2.html
Barry Lopez Papers
Author of, among other things, native peoples in the arctic, their culture, and views on environment.
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00161/trb-00161p1.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00161/trb-00161p2.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00161/trb-00161p3.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00164/trb-00164.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00163/trb-00163.html
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00175/trb-00175.html
Gary Paul Nabhan Papers
Author about indigenous and regional foods of the U.S. southwest.
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00179/trb-00179.html
Stephen Graham Jones Papers (new collection, available Summer 2019)
Native American fiction author.
The Richard Rowland Comanche Pots Collection
Works on cooperative efforts with the Comanche Nation, focusing on reconciliation.
http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/tturb/00182/trb-00182.html
Newspapers
El Editor was Lubbock and the South Plains’ Spanish language newspaper. Digital copies may be found at http://hdl.handle.net/20.500.12255/71375
NOTE: some links are currently in flux due to technological changes to our digital collections network infrastructure. If they fail, go to the primary Newspaper collection at http://collections2.swco.ttu.edu/handle/20.500.12255/1 and find El Editor
Maps
Our digitized maps collection holds maps from the 17th to 20th century, many of which describe Native American and Mexican presence. http://hdl.handle.net/10605/89757
Chilocco Indian School (Oklahoma) Collection, 1963-1996
The collection includes the original Chilocco Indian Boarding School's student rosters for the years 1968-1975. It provides such information as student names, grade level, sex, birth date, tribe, name of guardian or parent, community address, and agency. Also includes a 1963 Baccalaureate and Commencement Program, news clippings concerning the history of the school, and a list of former school employees.
Please note: Two agencies, the Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS) and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) have the largest and most complete holdings on Chilocco Indian Schools. This includes student records. https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00158/tsw-00158.html
Indian Schools Collection, 1929-1945
The collection, pertaining to various Indian schools, consists of correspondence, financial material, original drawings by Indian children, literary productions, maps, printed material, schedules and lists, food and clothing allotment records, vaccination records, and scrapbook material. https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00081/tsw-00081.html
Mescalero Apache Cattle Raisers Association Records, 1960s-1990s and undated (S1739.1)
The collection consists of material collected by N. E. Britton through his association with the Mescalero Apache Cattle Raisers Association. The collection includes minutes of board meetings, cattle record ledgers, sales contracts, journals, newspapers, maps, and correspondence dating from the 1960s to the 1990s. https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00298/tsw-00298.html
Tarahumara Photograph Collection
A collection of photographs taken over several decades of Mexico’s Tarahumara tribe. Many have been digitized and placed online at: http://hdl.handle.net/10605/7453, but many more exist in the archives only in physical form. A helpful blog describing the collection was written here: https://southwestcollection.wordpress.com/2015/08/03/the-tarahumara-photograph-collection/
West Texas Native American Association Records
The records of the West Texas Native American Association (WTNAA) consist of articles, correspondence, journals, notes, tables, and minutes. Many programs and records regarding their annual Pow Wow are present. Financial materials, by-laws, a copy of their constitution, insurance information, and photographs are also present. All materials relate to the day-to-day operations and major events of the WTNAA. https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00314/tsw-00314.html
Bidal Aguero Papers, 1949-1988 and undated
Bidal Aguero was the publisher of El Editor, Lubbock’s Spanish Language newspaper. He was also an activist, a Brown Berets, and had affiliations with many Latino organizations. https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00042/tsw-00042.html Digitized: http://hdl.handle.net/10605/89757
Herlinda “Linda” DeLeon Papers, 1961-2013 and undated.
The Herlinda “Linda” DeLeon Papers consists of records of her time on Lubbock’s City Council, containing extensive agendas covering 2004 to 2010, as well as records of her service on committees, Lubbock legal and financial material, and a host of other Lubbock, Lubbock County, and regional materials related to those subjects. Personal papers are included, such as correspondence and photographs, many pertaining not only to Linda DeLeon but to her family and family history as well. A smaller number of materials related to her work with Lubbock Independent School District (LISD) are available, along with a handful of artifacts, books, and audio/visual material. Finally, many oversized maps, posters, and large flat items are included.http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00363/tsw-00363.html
Lubbock Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (LHCC) Records, 1990-2007 and undated.
The Lubbock Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (LHCC) Records contains correspondence, financial records and related material, and photographs related to the history of the organization in the 1990s and 2000s. Samples of regular and Board meeting minutes, proposals, annual convention information, other events’ information, and a variety of other material is also present. http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/taro/ttusw/00356/tsw-00356.html