Guides: Anthropology: Databases, Journals, and Articles

Getting Some Background

Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
In twenty-six authoritative and clearly-written essays, this Companion explores the origins, aims, methods and problems of archaeology. Each essay is written by a scholar of international standing and illustrations complement the text.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by 300 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutes, and museums in the world. Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.

Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology

The Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology presents a state of the art overview of the subject - its methodologies, current debates, history and future. It will provide the ultimate source of authoritative, critical descriptions of all the key aspects of the discipline as well as a consideration of the general state of the discipline at a time when there is notable uncertainty about its foundations, composition and direction.

Related Research Guides

History
The guide provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting historical research.

Social Work
This guide to finding resources in the field of social work includes recommended databases, how to find social work journals, books, theses and dissertations.

Sociology
The guide includes suggestions for the best databases along with information about how to search for sociology books, theses and dissertations.

Psychological Sciences
A guide to help you find resources such as journal articles, books, e-journals, dissertations and theses related to psychology.

Best Bets for Finding Anthropology Articles

Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 19th century to today, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes: Harvard University’s Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom’s Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage sociology and anthropology journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is a high quality, interdisciplinary journal archive that focuses mainly on journals in the social sciences and humanities. It provides full-text access to hundreds of journals in anthropology, archaeology and area studies. Some recent issues are included, as well as many early issues. Along with journal articles, the database also includes access to books, images and primary sources. JSTOR is capable of searching full-text and offers term highlighting and cross-links to related resources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology
This database features a group of alphabetically arranged topics that contain a list of anthropology books and articles related to the topic.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. It can be especially useful for locating research on physical anthropology, forensic anthropology and archaeology. The database also contains a substantial amount of research on cultural anthropology and can be a useful resource for topics related to culture along with the databases noted above.

Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Best Bets for Finding Anthropology Journals

Many academic journals that were previously available in print can now be found online by clicking the E-Journals A-Z link below. The TTU Libraries also hold a number of print journals, which can be found by clicking the Library Catalog link below.

E-Journals A-Z This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic journals to which the library subscribes.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and other materials available for use and check-out.