Guides: Legal Information: Federal Legal Information

Supreme Court Cases

Supreme Court of the United States website
Provides documents and information about the Supreme Court included oral arguments, opinions, orders and journals, etc. Covers Court opinions from 1991 (bound volume 502) to date.
Print volumes available in Library Basement - compact shelving
Volumes 1-345 DOCS JU 6.8/1: volume
Volumes 346-date DOCS JU 6.8:volume

These are databases for researching Supreme Court Cases.

U.S. Supreme Court Library This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of U.S. Reports from 1754 to the present, as well as a variety of related resources.

Format Example - Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)

Volume - 410 United States Report - U.S. Case begin on page - 113 Date of decision - 1973

United States Reports. DOCS JU 6.8: Volumes 346 - date Official reports.

United States Reports DOCS JU 6.8/1: Volumes 1-345 Official reports.

United States Report Lawyer's Edition KF 101 U59 Annotated cases.

Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, covering rules and other administrative law. From HeinOnline.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Formerly known as THOMAS

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications covering a wide variety of congressional topics.

Constitution.Annotated
The Constitution Annotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time and is now available on this new site with upgraded search capabilities. The online Constitution Annotated includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions.

Federal Register Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the Federal Register from its inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, the U.S. Government Manual and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.

GovTrack.us
“GovTrack.us tracks the United States Congress and helps Americans understand what is going on in their national legislature.
....publish the status of federal legislation and information about your representative and senators in Congress. Use GovTrack to track bills for updates or get alerts.[Provides] statistical analyses, bill summaries, and other tools to put information in context.“
Supreme Court Nominations and Background: About
"This Proquest LibGuide contains links to information on the nomination process to the Supreme Court, to the current make-up of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and links to confirmation hearings."

U.S. Attorney General Opinions This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of materials related to the US Attorney General office, including Official Opinion (1791-1982).

U.S. Code
"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926."

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text legislative history on some of the most important US legislation, as well as related materials.
U.S. Treaties This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of US and international treaties and agreements.