Guides: Social Justice and the Built Environment: Environmental Justice

On this page you can learn more about :

Climate and Environmental Justice Issues

Architecture and Climate Change : 20 Interviews on the Future of Building by Sandra Hofmeister
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 3955536297
Publication Date: 2024
Climate Inheritance by Rania Ghosn; El Hadi Jazairy; Design Earth; Lucia Allais (Contribution by); David Gissen (Contribution by); Rodney Harrison (Contribution by); Colin Sterling (Contribution by)
Call Number: ARCH LIB Stacks NA2542.35 .C55 2023
ISBN: 9781638400998
Publication Date: 2023
Designing for the Climate Emergency by Sofie Pelsmakers; Aidan Hoggard; Urszula Kozminska; Elizabeth Donovan
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781003297246
Publication Date: 2022
Urban Planning for Climate Change by Barbara Norman
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780367486006
Publication Date: 2022

Urban Sustainability and Justice Just Sustainabilities and Environmental Planning (Open Access eBook)

Climate change adaptation : an Earth Institute sustainability primer by Lisa Dale
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231552974
Publication Date: 2022
Working across lines : resisting extreme energy extraction by Corrie Grosse
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780520388420
Publication Date: 2022
Green New Deal Landscapes by Jose A. Ramirez (Guest Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119743286
Publication Date: 2022
Climate Politics on the Border by Kenneth Walker
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780817321116
Publication Date: 2022
Global Views on Climate Relocation and Social Justice by Idowu Jola Ajibade (Editor); A. R. Siders (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781003141457
Publication Date: 2021
Urban Ecosystem Justice by Scott Kellogg
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781000450675
Publication Date: 2021
Form and Flow : The Spatial Politics of Urban Resilience and Climate Justice by Kian Goh
Call Number: E
ISBN: 9780262367059
Publication Date: 2021
Pollution Is Colonialism by Max Liboiron
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781478021445
Publication Date: 2021
Urban Ecology and Intervention in the 21st Century Americas by Allison M. Schifani
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781003055747
Publication Date: 2020
Design with Life by Mitchell Joachim; Maria Aiolova; Terreform ONE
Call Number: Arch Lib Stacks NA2542.35 .J53 2019
ISBN: 9781948765206
Publication Date: 2020
Diversifying Power by Jennie C. Stephens; Ted Landsmark (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781642831320
Publication Date: 2020
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440864032
Publication Date: 2020
Indigenous Environmental Justice by Karen Jarratt-Snider (Editor); Marianne O. Nielsen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780816541294
Publication Date: 2020
Bridging Silos: Collaborating for Environmental Health and Justice in Urban Communities by Katrina Smith Korfmacher
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780262354981
Publication Date: 2019
Environmental Justice in Postwar America by Christopher W. Wells (Editor); Paul S. Sutter (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780295743684
Publication Date: 2018
Racial Ecologies by LeiLani Nishime (Editor); Kim D. Hester Williams (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780295743714
Publication Date: 2018
Indigenous environmental knowledge : reappraisal by John M. Edington
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 3319624911
Publication Date: 2017
Clean and White : a history of environmental racism in the United States by Carl A. Zimring
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781479827084
Publication Date: 2016
Nature Across Cultures:Views of Nature and the Environment in Non-Western Cultures by Helaine Selin (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9401701490
Publication Date: 2013
Critical Landscapes by Emily Eliza Scott (Editor); Kirsten Swenson (Editor)
Call Number: University Library N8213 .C75 2015
ISBN: 9780520285484
Publication Date: 2015
Toxic Communities: Environmental Racism, Industrial Pollution, and Residential Mobility by Dorceta Taylor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781479805150
Publication Date: 2014
From the Ground Up by Luke W. Cole; Sheila R. Foster
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0814715370
Publication Date: 2000

Researching Environmental Justice

Library Resources

Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for sustainability experts and information professionals, this collection offers unmatched coverage of content relevant to many integral areas of sustainability initiative management, including full text for industry-leading journals, magazines, books, trade publications and other valuable resources.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering 1960 to present, includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering 1960 to present, includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).

Environmental Issues Online
Covers key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more

Open Access Sources

Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool- BETA
The current version of the tool provides socioeconomic, environmental, and climate information to inform decisions that may affect these communities. The tool identifies disadvantaged communities through publicly-available, nationally-consistent datasets.
EPA's Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool
EJSCREEN allows users to access high-resolution environmental and demographic information for locations in the United States, and compare their selected locations to the rest of the state, EPA region, or the nation.
US Government Data on Climate
coastal flooding, food resilience, water, ecosystem vulnerability, human health, energy infrastructure,transportation, and the Arctic region
EJAtlas - Global Atlas of Environmental Justice
documents over 3,000 social environmental conflicts around the world
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit
tools, information, and subject matter expertise to build climate resilience
NASA Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet
accurate and timely news and information about Earth’s changing climate, along with current data and visualizations
EPA Eco-Health Relationship Browser
CDC Environmental Public Health Data
reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health
Sabin Center for Climate Change Law Resources
access to the latest information, law, and scholarship on particular climate change-related topics
United Nations Environment Programme Data Platform
high quality geospatial data sets at various scales (global, continental, national and subnational) on a variety of environment related themes

Social Justice and the Built Environment

On this page you can learn more about :

Climate and Environmental Justice Issues

Researching Environmental Justice

Library Resources

Open Access Sources

Suggested Subject Searches